31 May 2019 – Coach Desiree Ellis has congratulated the five Banyana Banyana players selected in the squad for the University Sport South Africa (USSA) which will be going to the 30th Summer Universiade World Cup Student Games in Napoli, Italy from 3 – 14 July 2019.

The players are goalkeeper Mapaseka Mpuru, defender Bongeka Gamede, midfielders Kholosa Biyana and Ongeziwe Ndlangisa as well as forward Amanda Mthandi.

The women’s football team will be led by Banyana Banyana assistant coach Thinasonke Mbuli, who together with the five players, are currently in Rouen, France preparing for the upcoming 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup starting next month (7 June to 7 July).

Biyana will captain the USSA women’s football squad.

“I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the five players who will be going to Italy with the USSA squad – our hope is that they will learn a lot here at the World Cup and impart that knowledge when they play in Napoli, otherwise being in France would have been a futile exercise,” said Ellis.

“What makes us proud is that these are young players, most certainly the future of Banyana Banyana and the more higher competition they play the better players they will become, which in return will help the national team. I look at the likes of Fifi (Refiloe Jane) who went through the same journey and is now a regular in the Banyana Banyana squad. Good luck to the players.”

Mbuli and the five players will join the squad after they finish at the World Cup.

“I would also like to congratulate my number two Thina for the sterling work she does with the students. I am positive also that the knowledge and experience she acquires here at the World Cup will help her and her technical team when they get to the Student Games,” added Ellis.

The USSA delegation has 178 members, among whom 79 are women – and this includes athletes, coaches and administrators.

There are six sporting codes – football, athletics, swimming, archery, rugby sevens and tennis.

The Women’s Football Team to Italy:

Dineo Magagula – UJ
Mapaseka Karabo Mpuru – UP
Bongeka S’Mangela Gamede – UWC
Boitumelo Mmabatho Rasehlo – UJ
Thato Letsoso – UJ
Morongwa Manamela – UP
Matshediso Lerato Williams – TUT
Nolubabalo Sishuba – UWC
Meagan Robyn Newman – UP
Karabo Makhurubetshi – UJ
Kholosa Mthikazi Biyana – UKZN
Thalea Lauren Smidt – UP
Refilwe Thando Maseko – UJ
Khanya Xesi – UWC
Gabonneiwe Salome Kekana – TUT
Ongeziwe Ndlangisa – DUT
Amanda Mthandi – UJ
Molatelo Sara Kobo – UWC
Nelly Koketso Mamabolo – ORU
Hildah Tholakele – TUT
Nadia Carina Kroll – Team Leader – UP
Jabulile Baloyi – Coach – UJ