21 May 2019 – Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced a 30-man provisional squad to play in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations scheduled for Egypt from 21 June – 19 July.

It will be hosted by Egypt, after Cameroon was stripped the rights to host the showpiece.

The squad has a lot of experience with a touch of youth about it.

Baxter will trim his squad on the 12th of June before they depart for their pre-tournament training camp.

The final list must be with CAF 10 days before the first match.

“This was the most difficult exercise we had to undertake with my assistant Molefi Ntseki – just putting down 30 players on the list was very difficult as there are many who have been left out that we feel could have made it – but then again, it is impossible to accommodate everyone,” said Baxter.

Baxter has also added two new faces, overseas-based defenders Nikola Tavares and Joel Unteresee from Crystal Palace (England) and FC Zurich (Switzerland) respectively.

The duo is still working on their South African passports and will join camp once they have been sorted out.

Two new faces in the squad are Fortune Makaringe of Maritzburg United and Ben Motshwari of Orlando Pirates – both did not feature in the qualifying campaign, together with Kermit Erasmus of Cape Town, who also got a recall.

Bafana have been drawn in Group D against Morocco, Ivory Coast and fellow COSAFA member Namibia.

They open their AFCON campaign with a clash against Ivory Coast on Monday, 24 June, followed by Namibia on Friday, 28 June. In the last group stages match, Bafana Bafana will take on Morocco on Monday, 1 July.

“If we go to the AFCON with the mentality that they don’t think we are good, then let’s show them we are. All I want from the players is to give everything they have, do the best they can and I have a strong belief that we will grow stronger with every match,” added Baxter.

“I am confidence we can go past the group stages, and when we do, then the Bafana Bafana team will take it’s own life.”

All their matches will played at the Al Salam Stadium in Cairo, Egypt.


Sunday, 23 June 2019

Morocco vs Namibia
Al Salam Stadium, Cairo

Monday, 24 June 2019

Ivory Coast vs SOUTH AFRICA
Al Salam Stadium, Cairo

Friday, 28 June 2019

Morocco vs Ivory Coast
Al Salam Stadium, Cairo

Al Salam Staidum, Cairo

Monday, 1 July 2019

Al Salam Stadium, Cairo

Namibia vs Ivory Coast
30 June Stadium, Cairo

1. Darren KEET Bidvest Wits FC (SA
2. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA)
3. Bruce BVUMA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
4. Daniel CARDOSO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
5. Rivaldo COETZEE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
6. Ramahlwe MPHAHLELE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
7. Thulani HLATSHWAYO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
8. Innocent MAELA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
9. S’Fiso HLANTI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
10. Buhlebuyeza MKHWANAZI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
11. Thamsanqa MKHIZE Cape Town City FC (SA)

12. Bongani ZUNGU Amiens SC FC (FRANCE)
13. Hlompho KEKANA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
14. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
15. Kamohelo MOKOTJO Brentford FC (ENGLAND)
16. Tiyani MABUNDA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
17. Thulani SERERO SBV Vitesse FC (Netherlands)
18. Thembinkosi LORCH Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
19. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
20. Fortune MAKARINGE Maritzburg United FC (SA)
21. Ben MOTSHWARI Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
22. Keagan DOLLY Montpellier FC (FRANCE)
23. Lebo MOTHIBA Racing Club De Strasbourg FC (France)
24. Percy TAU Royal Union Saint FC (Belgium)
25. Lars VELDWIJK Sparta Rotterdam FC (NED)
26. Lebogang MABOE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
27. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
28. Kermit ERASMUS Cape Town City FC (SA)
29. defender Nikola TAVARES Crystal Palace FC (ENGLAND)
30. defender Joel UNTERESEE FC Zurich (Switzerland)