18 April 2019  – The South African U-20 Women’s National Team, better known as Basetsana, will participate in an U-19 International Tournament, hosted by China from 3  – 11 May 2019, in Xiamen City, Fujian, China.

South Africa, who are currently region five champions, will participate alongside hosts China, Thailand and Korea DPR.

Head Coach Sheryl Botes believes that this tournament will be good for the players, as it will give them international experience as they look towards preparations for bigger tournaments, while also teaching the players about different styles of play.

“We are honoured to be participating in this tournament because we rarely get international friendlies at junior level outside of qualifiers and regional tournaments.I believe this experience will encourage the players to bring out the best in themselves and aspire to move overseas like many of the Banyana Banyana players who are currently doing well overseas,” said Botes.

Basetsana squad to China

1. Kaydee WINDVOGEL High Performance Center  (SA)
2. Nthabiseng RAMAISA High Performance Center  (SA)
3. Leigh BROPHY University of Cape Town (SA)
5. Shakira O’MALLEY High Performance Center  (SA)
6. Noxolo CESANE University of Western Cape  (SA)
7. Sinoxolo CESANE University of Western Cape  (SA)
8. Lonathemba MHLONGO Durban Ladies FC (SA)
9. Jessica WADE JVW FC (SA)
10. Tyler- Bree ROSS TUKS FC (SA)
11. Kaylyn JORDAAN Spurs FC (SA)
12. Shannon MACOMO High Performance Center  (SA)
13. Zethembiso VILAKAZI Sunflower FC (SA)
14. Sphumelele SHAMASE Sunflower FC (SA)
15. Thubelihle SHAMASE Sunflower FC (SA)
16. Oratile MOKWENA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
17. Christy NOBLE High Performance Center  (SA)
18. Surprise MPHIGALALE High Performance Center  (SA)
19. Tiffany KORTJIE Blackpool FC  (SA)
20. Chelsea DANIELS University of Western Cape  (SA)