The draw for the expanded 24-team tournament was staged against the spectacular backdrop of the Sphinx and Pyramids on the Giza Plateau in Cairo.

Egypt will take on the Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda and Zimbabwe in Group A, opening their campaign against the latter at the Cairo International Stadium.

The top two teams in each pool advance to the second round, along with the four best third-placed sides.

Group D features Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa and Namibia, and should be keenly contested between the first three sides.

It once again pits Morocco coach Herve Renard against the Ivorian side with which he lifted the trophy in 2015.

The teams also met in Gabon two years ago where Morocco ousted their west African counterparts in the pool stages.

Group B sees Nigeria take on Guinea, as well as first time qualifiers Madagascar and Burundi, and the Super Eagles will be heavy favourites to top the pool.

Kenya are back at the finals for the first time in 15 years, while Tanzania last appeared in 1980, and both those sides will do well to advance from a Group C that also includes Senegal and Algeria.

Tunisia and Mali look favourites in Group E, which includes another first time qualifier in Mauritania, as well as Angola.

Group F is harder to call with holders Cameroon drawn alongside Ghana, Benin and Guinea-Bissau.

Egypt stepped in as 2019 hosts after Cameroon were stripped of the right to host the event in late November.

The North African nation is also the most successful in Cup of Nations history having won seven titles in the past.

The shift of dates for the tournament to the European summer will alleviate the club versus country battles that have marred previous editions.

The draw:

Group A: Egypt, Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda, ZIMBABWE

Group B: Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi

Group C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania

Group D: Morocco, Ivory Coast, SOUTH AFRICA, NAMIBIA

Group E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola

Group F: Cameroon, Ghana, Benin, Guinea-Bissau