29 March 2019 – South Africa’s National Under-20 head coach Thabo Senong has named 75 players as part of his provisional squad leading up to this year’s FIFA U-20 World Cup Poland Edition.

This global football showpiece runs from 23 May –15 June 2019.

It is from this squad that Senong will select 50 players that are to be submitted to FIFA by 1 April 2019 as the initial squad.

This total will further be trimmed down to the final 21-man World Cup squad that is to represent South Africa on the world stage and is this is to be submitted to FIFA by 12 May 2019.

Speaking shortly after returning from his European tour where he spent time scouting players for his Amajita squad, Senong stated that he was pleased with the quality of players he had identified there.

“I am happy with the players we have identified for our provisional squad,” Senong said.

“We are now in the process of trimming it down to 50 which is required by FIFA as our initial squad. We are working really hard to make sure that we send out a balanced group of players who will help us prepare well and be ready for the upcoming World Cup event.

“The final 21-man squad is expected to be submitted on 12 May 2019.”

In the upcoming World Cup event, Amajita are in the same group (Group F) with Argentina, South Korea and Portugal. The top two in the Group will progress to the next round, something Senong said was his primary goal.

Amajita will first play Argentina, the six time World Champions, on 25 May at the Tychy Stadium, before they lock horns with Korea Republic and Portugal.

The match against Korea Republic will also take place at the Tychy Stadium on 28 May, while their final group fixture against Portugal will take place at the Bielsko-Biala Stadium on 31 May.

All matches kicks-off at 20h30 local time.



1.     Giovanni Idi Goalkeeper Tuks FC  (Gauteng, South Africa)
2.     Buhle Damane Goalkeeper Vitoria Setubal (Portugal) *
3.     Khulekani Kubheka Goalkeeper Cape Umoya (Ekurhuleni/Gauteng, South Africa)
4.     Kopano Thuntsane Goalkeeper Pele Pele FC (SAFA Johannesburg/Gauteng, South Africa)
5.     Glen Baartjies Goalkeeper M. Tigers FC (Gauteng, South Africa)
6.     Njabulo Blom Right Back / Centre back Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng, South Africa)
7.     Kgomotso Chiwayo Right back Tuks FC (Gauteng, South Africa)
8.     Malebogo Modise Left Back M. Tigers FC (SAFA Bojanala/North West, South Africa)
9.     Sibusiso Mabiliso Left back AmaZulu FC  (North West, South Africa)
10.  Bradley Cross Left centre back Schalke FC  (SAFA Ekurhuleni (Germany)
11.  Keenan Abrahams Right/left centre back Ajax Cape Town FC (Western Cape, South Africa)
12.  Dean Solomons Right/left centre back Ajax Amsterdam (Netherlands)
13.  Givemore Khupe Right centre back Cape Umoya (Mpumalanga, South Africa)
14.  Thabo Moloisane Right Back M. Tigers FC (Gauteng, South Africa)
15.  Keenan Phillips Right Back Bidvest Wits (Western Cape, South Africa)
16.  Fezile Gcaba Centre Back Pele Pele FC (KwaZulu-Natal South Africa)
17.  Luke Flyers Centre Back Supersport United (Western Cape, South Africa)
18.  Keith Groeneveld Centre Back Standard Liege (Belgium)
19.  Nicolas Tavares Centre Back Crystal Palace (England)
20.  Keagan Johannes Centre Back Ajax Cape Town FC (Western Cape, South Africa)
21.  Kiyaam Bull Centre Back Ajax Cape Town FC (Western Cape, South Africa)
22.  Brooklyn Poggenpoel Centre Back Cape Umoya (Western Cape, South Africa)
23.  Thabo Mokwena Centre Back Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng, South Africa)
24.  Samkelo Mgwazela Centre Back Lamontville Golden Arrows (KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
25.  Notha Ngcobo Left Back M. Tigers FC (SAFA Ugu/KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
26.  Lesley Kanyane Left Back Bidvest Wits (Gauteng, South Africa)
27.  Nkanyiso Shinge Left Back Vitoria Setubal (Portugal)
28.  Reece Vetter Left Back Bidvest Wits (Gauteng, South Africa)
29.  Lethabo Mazibuko Left Back Pele Pele FC (Gauteng, South Africa)
30.  Zuko Mdunyelwa Right Back Cape Town City FC (Western Cape, South Africa)
31.  Philani Jaca Right Back Vitoria Setubal (Portugal)
32.  Simphiwe Ncamane Central Midfield TS Sporting  FC (Eastern Cape, South Africa)
33.  Philasande Mfanafikile Dlamini Central midfield Lamontville Golden Arrows (KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
34.  Siphesihle Mkhize Central Midfield Mamelodi Sundowns (From KZN, South Africa)
35.  Luke Le Roux Central Midfield Supersport United (From Western Cape, South Africa)
36.  Roberto Fragale Central Midfield Highlands Park FC (Gauteng, South Africa)
37.  Goodman Mosele Central Midfield Baroka FC (From North West, South Africa)
38.  Jesse Donn Central Midfield Ubuntu FC (Western Cape, South Africa)
39.  Sphephelo Sithole Central Midfield Belenenses (SAFA Uthungula, (Playing in Portugal)
40.  Riyaaz Kopstad Central Midfield Ajax Cape Town FC (Western Cape, South Africa)
41.  Jenoven September Central Midfield Bidvest Wits (From Eastern Cape, South Africa)
42.  Keanin Boya Ayer Central Midfield Varbergs BolS ( Sweden)
43.  Luvuyo Phewa CAM Real Kings FC (KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
44.  Tshgofatso Nyama CAM TS Galaxy (Gauteng, South Africa)
45.  Khanya Thakgalo Leshabela CAM Leicester City (England)
46.  Oswin Appolis CAM Supersport United (From Western Cape, South Africa)
47.  Tashreeq Matthews CAM Borussia Dortmund (Germany)
48.  Duncan Adonis CAM Cape Town City FC (Western Cape, South Africa)
49.  Augustine Mahlonoko CAM Orlando Pirates (Gauteng, South Africa)
50.  Keegan Mitchel CAM Bidvest Wits (Gauteng, South Africa)
51.  Kwinda Netshitangani CAM Kaptiva Sport Academy ( Spain)
52.  Sifiso Charles Sithole CAM Bidvest Wits (Gauteng, South Africa)
53.  Lehlohonolo Solomon Kunyedi Winger Bidvest Wits (From Free State, South Africa)
54.  Kobamelo Kodisang Winger AD Sanjoanense (Portugal)
55.  Promise Mkhuma Winger Mamelodi Sundowns (Gauteng, South Africa)
56.  Leo Thetani Winger Borussia Dortmund (Germany)
57.  Thabiso Monyane Winger Pele Pele (Gauteng, South Africa)
58.  Kanyisile Mayo Winger Supersport United (From Eastern Cape, South Africa)
59.  Siphesihle Mdlalose Winger Southampton (England)
60.  Jaqueel De Jager Winger Cape Town City FC (Western Cape, South Africa)
61.  Lyle Foster Striker Monaco (France)
62.  Bayanda Shangase Striker AmaZulu (KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
63.  Jermaine George Striker Cape Umoya (Western Cape, South Africa)
64.  Sibusiso Shibane Striker Portimonense C.S (Portugal)
65.  Muzi Khanyi Striker Bidvest Wits (From KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
66.  Tyrique Bartlett Striker Newcastle (England)
67.   Junior Nare Striker Bidvest Wits (Gauteng, South Africa)
68.  Shungu Dutiro Striker Mamelodi Sundowns (Gauteng, South Africa)
69.  Edson Khumalo Striker Bidvest Wits (Gauteng, South Africa)
70.  Dylan Stoffels Striker Supersport United (From KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
71.  Kutlwano Ntholeng Striker Bloemfontein Celtics (Free State, South Africa)
72.  Bafana Tshawe Striker Jomo Cosmos (Gauteng, South Africa)
73.  Bongokuhle Hlongwane Striker Maritzburg United (KwaZulu-Natal,  South Africa)
74.  Nkosikhona Dube Striker Lamontville Golden Arrows (KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
75.  Sthabiso Ndaba Striker SAFA School of Excellence (KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)