20 March 2019 – Head coach of the South African U-23 Men’s National Team, David Notoane, has named a 23-man squad that will face Angola in the first leg, first round 2019 CAF U23 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Angola on Friday (22 March), scheduled to be played at the Estádio 11 de November in Luanda, Angola.

Kickoff is at 17h00 South African time.

Notoane and his charges are flying out to Angola this morning (20 March 2019).

He acknowledged that it was a difficult task to select his final squad out of the 28 players who were in camp, because they all gave a good account of themselves.

“It was a very difficult task of selecting the final 23-man players to take to Angola, and that is mainly because we had a good number of players who gave it their all in this selection camp,” said Notoane.

“We assessed the level of match preparedness in the players we had roped in for our provisional squad, and I must say that I am happy with the final squad we have come up with.”

Notoane also announced that  Chippa United midfielder, Tercious Malepe, will captain the SA U-23 squad for this round of AFCON qualifiers, with Supersport United’s Teboho Mokoena serving as the vice captain.

The return leg will take place on 26 March 2019 at Bidvest Stadium.


SA U-23 squad vs Angola:



Darren JOHNSON (Ajax Cape Town), Khulekani KUBHEKA (Cape Umoya FC), Andile MBANJWANA (Richards Bay FC)


Thendo MUKUMELO (Ajax Cape Town), Keanu CUPIDO (Cape Town City FC), Siyabonga NGEZANA (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Kabelo  SERIBA (FC Metta, LATVIA), Katlego MOHAMME (Supersport United), Sandile MTHETHWA (Richards Bay FC), Bongani SAM (Bloemfontein Celtic)


Teboho MOKOENA (Supersport United), Athenkosi DLALA (Supersport United), Tercious MALEPE  (C) (Chippa United), Gift LINKS (Cape Town FC), Kamohelo MAHLATSI (Supersport United), Grant MARGEMAN (Ajax Cape Town), Jamie WEBBER (Supersport United), Thabo CELE (Cova da Piedade FC, PORTUGAL)


Luther SINGH (GD Chaves FC, PORTUGAL), Phakamani MAHLAMBI (Sundowns), Lyle  FOSTER (AS Monaco FC, FRANCE), Jemondre DICKENS (Baroka FC), Keletso MAKGALWA (Sundowns), Khanyisa MAYO (Royals Eagles FC)