1 March 2019– Head coach of the Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana, Desiree Ellis, has made six changes ahead of the clash against Korea DPR in the 2019 Cyprus Women’s Cup.

The two nations meet tonight (1 March 2019) at 18h00 in their second matches of the tournament at the AEK Stadium in Larnaca, Cyprus.

Kaylin Swart is back in goals in place of Andile Dlamini.

There are two changes in defence – captain Janine van Wyk and right back Lebohang Ramalepe retain their places. Van Wyk will play alongside Bambanani Mbane who comes in for Tiisetso Makhubela, while Leandra Smeda makes a positional switch to left back in place of Nothando Vilakazi.

Refiloe Jane continues in the middle of the park and will partner with Mamello Makhabane who replaces Smeda. Nompumelelo Nyandeni gets a start ahead of Busisiwe Ndimeni, while Linda Motlhalo and Thembi Kgatlana come in for Karabo Dlamini and Jermaine Seoposenwe.

Rhoda Mulaudzi has also retained her spot in the starting line-up.

Koketso Tlailane is still nursing an injury and has not been considered for selection.

In the first match, South Africa drew 2-2 against Finland, while Korea DPR defeated Czech Republic 4-2 in Group A.


This is how they will line up:


South Africa vs Korea DPR (1 March 2019 – Cyprus)

 Kaylin Swart (GK), Lebohang Ramalepe, Leandra Smeda,Bambanani Mbane, Janine van Wyk (c), Linda Motlhalo, Refiloe Jane, Mamello Makhabane, Nompumelelo Nyandeni, Thembi Kgatlana, Rhoda Mulaudzi


 Andile Dlamini (GK), Victoria Muroa (GK), Noko Matlou,Nothando Vilakazi, Tiisetso Makhubela, Busisiwe Ndimeni, Karabo Dhlamini, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Amanda Mthandi, Kholosa Biyana, Molatelo Sebata,

Not in Match-Day squad:

Koketso Tlailane (injured)


Coach: Desiree Ellis