6 December 6, 2018 – The Media Launch and draw for the 2018/19 KwaMahlobo Games took place in Meadowlands, Soweto on Thursday, 6 December 2018.

The ceremonies to mark the opening of the popular annual Games were attended by LaLiga Africa Director, Antonio Barradas, legends Dr Khumalo, Neil Tovey and a host of media personalities.

The Games will kick off on 19 December 2018 at KwaMahlobo Grounds, with the final scheduled for 5 January 2019.

A total of 40 teams went into the draw and there were some exciting draws within the 8 Groups setting a scene for another bumper festive season of exciting football.

LaLiga’s Barradas said the KwaMahlobo Games were some of the most popular Festive Season Games and he was happy that LaLiga was contributing in developing football in the country.

“At the end of the day, this is more of providing entertainment to football fans and I am glad that these games have been played in the spirit of fair play. There has not been an iota of violence or misdemeanour since we got involved and I would want the same spirit to continue,” he said.

Tournament director, Ntenjwa said since the games were launched 22 years ago, they have grown from strength to strength adding this year’s Games should be a thriller.

The Games ambassador, Dr Khumalo said he wanted to see more and more players coming out of these tournaments as most were the basis of where Soccer Stars were born.

“Through these Games, youngsters and semi-professional get to develop their football talents and I want to thank LaLiga for providing the players with such a great opportunity,” said Khumalo.

The 1996 legend said the community needed to play their part in finding and nurturing football talent.


Group A Group B
A1) Halftime Management B1) Meadowlands Black Rangers
A2) Meadowlands All Stars B2) Meadowlands Juventus
A3) Galacticos FC B3) Lightning FC
A4) Ngwato All Stars B4) Mzimhlophe Porto
A5) Guptas FC B5) Snake Park Chillers
Group C Group D
C1) Overbility Academy D1) Meadowlands Harmony FC
C2) Mantari FC D2) BKM FC
C3) FC Mswenko D3) Sour XI (Eleven)
C4) Soweto Super United D4) Gama United
C5) Mogale City FC D5) Ngulube FC
Group E Group F
E1) Braamfisher City F1) Meadowlands Liverpool
E2) Meadowlands Professionals F2) Mathaithayi FC
E3) Tshepisong All Stars F3) Boys United
E4) A To Z FC F4) Dooronkop Students
E5) Amajananda FC F5) Shake Everyday
Group G Group H
G1) Meadowlands Rangers H1) Vilakazi Football Academy
G2) Mambas FC H2) Braamfisher Eagles
G3) Sugar Black Heroes


H3) Abashumayeli
G4) Izinja zeGame H4) Meadowlands Academy
G5) LNB Tax FC H5) Chipolopolo FC