5 December 2018 – Day one of the 2018 edition of the Sasol League National Championships provided some great action and beautiful goals as UWC Ladies, Durban Ladies and Thunderbirds walked away with their first 3 points of the tournament.

The opening match of the women’s national championships saw the defending champions Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies found wanting as they went down 3-0 to UWC Ladies.

A brace from lanky striker and Diski Queen of the match Molatelo Koba in the 38th and 65th minute accompanied with a beautiful goal from Khanya Xesi in the 79th minute, gave the Cape University side the confidence boost to believe they can compete.

The second match of the day produced a whopping seven goals, as Durban Ladies ran riot over the Northern Cape’s Richmond United. United was 2-0 down in the first half after two stunning goals from Memory Makhanya in the 7th minute and Sthembile Shange in the 35th minute of the game.

Shange showed her ambitions of being selected to play for the national team with a hattrick that earned her the Diski Queen award. Her other two goals were scored in the 48th and 74th minute. Former Banyana Banyana forward Slindile Ngubane earned herself a brace with two beautiful goals in the 59th and 87th minute.

Richmond United were demoralized and conceded the seventh goal in the 89th minute when Nomvuyo Bhengu netted in an easy finish.

The last match of the day saw the Thunderbirds of the Eastern Cape thrashing Golden Ladies of the North West. Philisa Mjambane scored her opening brace in a tournament which seems be producing competition for top goal scorer.

Day 2 of the 2018 Sasol League National Championships will see Durban Ladies take on First Touch Academy in the first match of the day at 10h30.

Thunderbirds will be looking to pull a fast one over the newly crowned Gauteng Champions TUT Ladies at 13h00 and UWC Ladies will be on the hunt for another three points when they take on Coal City Wizards at 15h30.

The winners of the 2018 Sasol League National Championships will walk away with R200 000; while the runners up will receive R100 000. The bronze medallist will receive R600 000.