19 October 2018 – Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana start their preparation camp this Sunday (21 October) in Johannesburg to get ready for the 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations that will take place in Ghana from 17 November to 1 December.

Head coach Desiree Ellis has called up 31 players for the training camp and will trim the squad down to 21 players on Friday, 26 October.

The former Banyana Banyana captain has already had to make two changes to the squad even before the start of camp – Finland-based striker Ode Fulutudilu has had to withdraw due to club commitments, and is now joined by midfielder Amogelang Motau, who plays and studies in the USA (Oral Roberts University). Motau has also declined the national team call up owing to her studies and club commitments.

Their places have been taken by Sduduzo Dlamini (Sunflower FC) and Gabriela Salgado (JVW FC) respectively.

The AFCON tournament will serve as an African qualifier for the 2019 FIFA Women World Cup in France – where the top three nations in Ghana will book their place in the premier women’s football showpiece scheduled to be played in June.

Joining South Africa at the 2018 AFCON are the hosts Ghana, defending champions Nigeria, Cameroon, Algeria, Mali, Kenya and Zambia.


(updated) PROVISIONAL Banyana Banyana AFCON SQUAD

1. Andile Dlamini Mamelodi Sundowns FC Pretoria
2. Kaylin Swart Menlo College/Awaiting Int Transfer Port Elizabeth
3. Roxanne Barker University of Western Cape Cape Town
4. Yolula Tsawe JVW FC Johannesburg
5. Lebogang Ramalepe Ma-Indies FC Polokwane
6. Nothando Vilakazi Palace Super Falcons FC Johannesburg
7. Janine Van Wyk Houston Dash/Awaiting Int Transfer USA/Johannesburg
8. Noko Matlou Ma-Indies FC Polokwane
9. Bambanani Mbane Bloemfontein Celtic FC Bloemfontein
10. Regina Mogolola University of Pretoria Pretoria
11. Tiisetso Makhubela Mamelodi Sundowns FC Pretoria
12.  Thato Letsoso University of Johannesburg Johannesburg
13. Koketso Tlailane TUT-PTA Pretoria
14. Kgaelebane Mohlakoana Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein
15. Refiloe Jane Canberra United Australia
16. Rachel Sebati TUT-PTA Pretoria
17. Mamello Makhabane JVW FC Johannesburg
19. Leandra Smeda Gintra Universitetas Lithuania
20. Nompumelelo Nyandeni JVW FC Johannesburg
21. Linda Motlhalo Houston Dash USA
22. Kholosa Biyana University of KZN Durban
23. Hildah Magaia TUT-PTA Pretoria
24. Jabulile Mazibuko TUT-PTA Pretoria
25. Siyamthanda Skeyi Thunderbirds FC East London
26. Khanya Xesi University Western Cape Cape Town
28. Jermaine Seoposenwe JVW FC Johannesburg
29. Thembi Kgatlana Houston Dash USA
30. Melinda Kgadiete Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein
31. Amanda Mthandi University of Johannesburg Johannesburg