05 October 2018 – Likhanyile Ndlendle inspired Clapham High School (Gauteng) to the 2018 Under-19 Sanlam Kay Motsepe Schools Cup at TUT Stadium, Pretoria-West Campus on Friday, 5 October 2018.

Ndlendle snared a brace and an assist in a hard fought 3-1 victory over John Ramsay (Western Cape).

Barely five minutes into the game, Ramsay took a surprise lead as Oswin Appolis struck a delightful curler into the top corner, leaving goalkeeper Glen Baadjies helpless.

Ramsay started to dominate play. They were solid at the back but also quick going forward, and forcing Clapham to play from the back.

With time not on their side, Clapham started to push more numbers up with left-back Siyanda Msani operating in the opponents’ half in a more attacking formation.

The Gauteng-based team opened the second half hoping to make amends of the first. Cassius Mailula took on three players as he dribbled his way into the box only to have his footing let him down.

However, Clapham’s persistence would soon pay off as an unmarked Phiwayinkosi zuma unleashed a close-range shot that found the bottom corner after being set up by Likhanyile Ndlendle.

That was the break-through Clapham needed, as they started to play with ease and comfort, while Ramsay started to cramp and defend deep.

Things started to fall into place for Clapham as Ndlendle, outside the 18-area, unleashed a terrific ball that easily sailed past keeper Dillion Persent.

Ndlendle was not done, as he put the final nail in the coffin with another screamer from the D-line.

Meanwhile, in the 3rd/4th place playoffs earlier in the day, it was School of Excellence that ensured third spot after hammering Sibanesihle 3-0.

After succumbing to a 4-2 loss in the lottery of penalty-shooutouts against Ramsay on Thursdsy, School of Excellence’s talisman Siyabonga Nkonyane, ensured victory with a hat-trick in today’ encounter.

Full results and prize money recipients:

1st place: Clapham – R1 000 000

2nd: John Ramsay – R600 000

3rd: School of Excellence – R500 000

4th: Sibanesihle – R400 000

Individual award ceremony:

Player of the tournament: Likhanyile Ndlendle (Clapham).

Top goal-scorer of the tournament: Likhanyile Ndlendle (Clapham).

Goalkeeper of the tournament: Glen Baadjies (Clapham)

Coach of the tournament: Jurgille Manuel (John Ramsa).