2 October 2018 – The 14th Edition of the Under-19 Sanlam Kay Motsepe Schools Cup national finals will kick-off today 2-5 October 2018 at Tshwane University of Technology (TUT), Pretoria-West campus.

The 18 schools that finished first and second at provincial level across the country will battle out for the winning prize money of R1 Million.

These schools are: School of Excellence and Clapham (Gauteng), Unitas and Ntsu (Free State), Tshikoto and Hudson-Ntsanwisi (Limpopo), Ohlange and Sibanesihle (KZN), Phaphamani and Ubuhlebuzile (Mpumlalanga), Langberg and Blinklip (Northern Cape), Khanya-Naledi and Ndzodelelo(Eastern Cape), Eletsa and Arefadimehe (North West), Thembalethu and John Ramsay (Western Cape)

The teams are divided into 4 Groups in which Group A and B have five teams each while C and D have four.

The semi-finals will be played on Thursday while the final including the 3rd/4th place play offs will be played on Friday.

While the winners will walk-away with R1 Million, the other three teams that will finish in the top four will bag R600 000 (2nd place), R500 000 (3rd place) and R400 000 (4th place).

Over the years, Clapham High School and Harmony have been the most successful teams, each winningthe tournament three times.

With their winnings, Clapham have built a life centre and two new sports fields, while Harmony renovated their school facilities.

Main sponsors, The Motsepe Foundation and Sanlam’s aim is to ensure that they contribute to school development programmes from grassroots level.

Head of Arts, Sports and Music at Motsepe Foundation, Peter Ledwaba said their target is mainly to reach out to the disadvantaged and poorer communities around the country.


Here are the full Groups:


School of Excellence Langberg Eletsa Ubuhlebuzile
Unitas Khanya-Naledi Blinklip Arefadimehe
Tshikoto Clapham Thembalethu John Ramsay
Ohlange Ntsu Sibanesihle Hudson-Ntsanwisi
Phaphamani Ndzondelelo