17 September 2018 –Banyana Banyana captain Janine van Wyk continued to rewrite the history books when she was selected in the starting line-up to take on Malawi in South Africa’s third match of the 2018 COSAFA Women’s Championship currently underway in Port Elizabeth.

She missed the first two matches, with vice captain Refiloe Jane leading the squad in Van Wyk’s absence.

Van Wyk continues to hold the record as the most capped South African footballer of any gender – closely followed by Noko Matlou (143) and Nompumelelo Nyandeni (141).

The other three members of the 100-cap club are Nothando Vilakazi (111), Amanda Dlamini (105) and Portia Modise (both retired).

Van Wyk is also the most capped female footballer on the continent, but the fourth highest-capped footballer behind Ahmed Hassan (184), Hossam Hassan (169) and Essam El-Hadary (159) – all from Egypt.


  • Born in Alberton, Gauteng (17 April 1987)
  • Grew up in Germiston
  • Captains the Senior Women’s National Team
  • First girls team was Springs Home Sweepers in Springs, Kwa-Thema
  • Played for Moroka Swallows, then Palace Super Falcons where she won three league titles back to back
  • Founded her own club, JVW FC in 2013
  • Signed for Houston Dash (USA) in December 2016, becoming the first South African to play in National Women’s Soccer League
  • Made her international debut in 2005 against Nigeria (African Women’s Championship)
  • Reached her 50th cap in February 2010 (vs England – 8 Nations Tournament, Cyprus)
  • Her 100th appearance was in August 2014 (vs Namibia)
  • 125th match was in March 2016 (vs Cameroon)
  • Clocked 150 caps in September 2017 (vs Malawi – 2018 COSAFA Women’s Championship, Port Elizabeth)
  • Was part of the team that played at the 2012 London Olympics and also captained the squad at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games
  • 2011 COSAFA Cup Player of the Tournament
  • 2010 SAFA Player of the Year
  • 2016 CAF African Women’s Player of the Year Nominee
  • Banyana Banyana 50+ caps (Before Malawi clash):


Janine VAN WYK    ( C ) 149*
Noko MATLOU 143
Nompumelelo NYANDENI 141
Portia MODISE (retired) 124
Nothando VILAKAZI 111
Amanda DLAMINI (retired) 105
Refiloe JANE     ( VC ) 87
Mamello MAKHABANE 83
Leandra SMEDA 81
Sanah MOLLO 73
Jermaine SEOPOSENWE 59