8 September 2018 – Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced his starting 11 against Libya in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier scheduled for this afternoon (Saturday, 8 September) at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

Orlando Pirates winger Vincent Pule will earn his first cap for Bafana Bafana – this after coming into the squad as a replacement for the injured Themba Zwane.

In goals, Baxter has selected Itumeleng Khune, who will be making his 88th appearance – the most capped player in the squad.

At central defence, captain Thulani Hlatshwayo will marshall the troops, assisted by his teammate at Bidvest Wits Buhle Mkhwanazi, with Ramahlwe Mphahlele and Sfiso Hlanti running the lines at right back and left back respectively.

In the middle of the part, Dean Furman will operate alongside Kamohelo Mokotjo, as well as Sibusiso Vilakazi. Pule and Keagan Dolly will be on the wings, while Percy Tau is the lone striker.

Kickoff for Bafana Bafana and Libya is at 15h00.

This will be the first ever meeting between the two nations.

Both sides sit on three points each in Group E following Bafana Bafana’s 2-0 win over Nigeria in the opening matches of the qualifiers, while Libya defeated Seychelles 5-1.

The winners and runners-up of each group will qualify for the tournament to be hosted next year in Cameroon.

Bafana Bafana starting 11 vs Libya:

Itumeleng Khune (GK), Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Sfiso Hlanti, Thulani Hlatshwayo (c), Buhle Mkhwanazi, Dean Furman, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Keagan Dolly, Vincent Pule, Percy Tau.


Darren Keet (GK), Innocent Maela, Siyanda Xulu, Teboho Mokoena, Maphosa Modiba, Tiyani Mabunda, Bradley Grobler.

Not in match day squad:

Ronwen Williams (GK), Motjeka Madisha, Siphesihle Ndlovu, Mxolisi Macuphu.

Head coach: Stuart Baxter