28 August 2018 – Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced a 22-man squad to face Libya in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

South Africa and The Mediterranean Knights will meet for the first time ever in their history in a clash scheduled for Saturday, 8 September 2018 at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

Kick off is at 15h00.

This is the second match of the AFCON qualifiers following their 2-0 victory over Nigeria in Uyo in June last year.

Libya is top of the table in Group E after their 5-1 win against the Seychelles in Tripoli. Bafana Bafana are second on goal difference, while Nigeria is third and Seychelles is bottom of the group.

After the Libya game, there are four matches remaining in the qualifiers.South Africa will next face Seychelles in back to back fixtures in October, and will then host Nigeria in November. The last clash of the qualifiers will be away to Libya in March next year.

The Total 2019 Africa Cup of Nations tournament will be played from 7 – 30 June, the first time ever since it was moved from the usual January/February period by the CAF Executive Committee on 20 July 2017.

Cameroon, who will be hosting for the first time since 1972, are also the defending champions. The competition will be the 32nd Edition of the Africa Cup of Nations.

Bafana Bafana will assemble for camp on Sunday, 2 September 2018 in Johannesburg and will travel to Durban the next day to start preparations for the qualifier against Libya.

Bafana Bafana Remaining 2019 AFCON Fixtures



13th – SA vs Seychelles

16th – Seychelles vs SA



17th – SA vs Nigeria


1. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
2. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA)
3. Darren KEET Bidvest Wits FC (SA
4. Ramahlwe MPHAHLELE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
5. Motjeka MADISHA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
6. Siyanda XULU Maritzburg United FC (SA)
7. Thulani HLATSHWAYO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
8.  Innocent MAELA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
9. S’Fiso HLANTI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
10. Buhle MKHWANAZI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
11. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
12. Siphesihle NDLOVU Maritzburg United FC (SA)
13. Hlompho KEKANA Mamelodi Sundowns FC  (SA)
14. Bongani ZUNGU Amiens FC (France)
15. Teboho MOKOENA  Supersport United FC (SA)
16. Kamohelo MOKOTJO Brentford FC (England)
17. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
18. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
19. Keagan DOLLY Montpellier FC (France)
20. Percy TAU Royal Union FC (Belgium)
21. Lebo MOTHIBA Lille FC (France)
22. Bradley GROBLER Supersport United FC (SA)