10 August 2018 – The fixtures for the 2018/2019 Western Cape ABC Motsepe League season were released with some mouth-watering opening encounters billed for this weekend.

The new campaign will kick-off on Friday, 10 August, with the evening clash between two Western Cape ABC Motsepe League giants, Ajax Cape Town and The Magic FC at 19h00.

Western Cape ABC Motsepe League Champions Steenberg United will begin their title defence away to Morning Stars on Saturday. Steenberg amassed 71 points and scored 63 goals while finishing 7 points clear of second-placed The Magic FC in the 2017/2018 season.

Following the Morning Stars game, Steenberg does not face any team which finished in the top half of the table last season until they are away to Grassy Park United who finished fourth last season – in late September.

Newbies, Mbekweni Cosmos FC, who have bought the ABC Motsepe League status of last season’s third-place finishers Ace FC will get their first taste of ABC Motsepe League football when they host the 2016/2017 champions Zizwe United at CPUT Stadium, in Wellington on Saturday.

Santos FC will be aiming for promotion, having been relegated from the National First Division in the 2016/2017 season. The former PSL club has found life in the ABC Motsepe League tough as they finished sixth with only 11 wins from 30 games

The final round of Western Cape ABC Motsepe League fixtures, scheduled for 10 and 11 May, will see Grassy Park away to Jomo Powers, while Ajax and Steenberg are home to Mbekweni and D&G Orient respectively.

Take a look at the full 2018/2019 season fixture list here.