22 June 2018– Head coach of the Burger-King sponsored South African U20 Men’s National Team (Amajita) Thabo Senong, has selected a strong 26-man squad to face Malawi in the third and final round of qualifiers for the CAF U20 Africa Cup of Nations.

Senong has kept the bulk of the players that did duty against Mozambique in the previous round where South Africa won 4-1 on agreggate (1-0 away, 3-0 home) last month.

In the 26-man squad, the Amajita mentor has included seven new players – defenders Keenan Abrahams (Ajax Cape Town), Keith Groenewald (Standard Liege, Belgium), Sibusiso Mabiliso (Amazulu) and Bradley Cross (Bidvest Wits); midfielders Mfanafikile Dlamini (Golden Arrows) and Khanyisile Mayo (Supersport United), as well as striker Thabiso Monyane (Orlando Pirates).

The first leg clash between South Africa and Malawi will be played on Saturday, 14 July 2018 at Moruleng Stadium near Rustenburg.

Kickoff is at 15h00.

Malawi qualified for the last round after brushing aside Angola – won 4-1 away in Luanda and lost 2-1 at home.

Amajita are expected to assemble for camp on Sunday, 8 July in Johannesburg before travelling to Rustenburg where they will have their preparation camp.

The two nations will lock horns for the return leg on the weekend of 20 – 22 July in Malawi.

The overall winner will qualify for the 2019 CAF Africa Cup of Nations to be hosted by Niger – where the top four countries at the 8-nation event will qualify for the 2019 FIFA U20 World Cup, which will be held in Poland.




1. Khulekani KUBHEKA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
2. Glen BAARTJIES Mamelodi Sundowns  FC (SA)
3. Thabo MOLOISANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
4. Njabulo BLOM Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
5. Keenan ABRAHAMS Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
6. Keith GROENEVELD Standard Liege FC (Belgium)
7. Sibusiso MABILISO Amazulu FC (SA)
8. Reece VETTER Rand Burg FC (SA)
9. Malebogo MODISE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
10. Givemore KHUPE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
11. Thabo MOKOENA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
12 Bradley CROSS Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
13. Jesse DONN Ubuntu FC (SA)
14. Siphesihle MKHIZE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
15. Mfanafikile DLAMINI Golden Arrows FC (SA)
16. Keagan MITCHELL Black Aces FC (SA)
17. Duncan ADONIS Cape Town City FC (SA)
18. Nkosingiphile NGCOBO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
19. Tashreeq MATTHEWS Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
20. Kobamelo KODISANG Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
21. Promise MKHUMA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
22. Khanyisile MAYO Supersport United FC (SA)
23. Wiseman MEYIWA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
24. Shungu DUTIRO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
25. Lyle FOSTER Orlando Pirates  FC (SA)
26. Thabiso MONYANE Orlando Pirates FC (SA)