6 June 2018 – It’s advantage for Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana after they beat Lesotho 1-0 in the first leg of the CAF Women Nations Cup qualifier.

South Africa was by far the better side in this first leg played at Setsoto stadium on Wednesday afternoon.

But still, the win put them closer  to qualification for Ghana with the second leg scheduled for Dr Petrus Molemela stadium on Sunday still to come.

Banyana Banyana had an early scare when Nothando Vilakazi was bumped in an off the ball situation in the very first minute but she recovered to take her place.

Jermaine Seoposenwe then made an amazing run on the 4th minute but her cross was cleared by a Lesotho defender. Moments later Vilakazi made another cross as Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana asked early questions.

Banyana duly took the lead when Leandra Smeda’s curling shot found the back of the net in the 9th minute. It was due reward after South Africa had put early pressure.

Smeda then rose above everyone from a corner kick moments later as Banyana pushed for further advantage.

Vilakazi then almost scored a freak goal when her long range cross beat the Lesotho keeper but the ball just bounced off the upright as the score remained 1-0 for the visitors.

Mpumi Nyandeni then saw her effort fly over the bar as Banyana continued to pile pressure.

The two teams went to half time with the visitors on top.

Zanele Nhlapo then went in for Mogolola on the 55th min.

Soon after, Smeda’s effort was smothered by the keeper on second attempt.

Noko Matlou then made way for Chantelle Esau moments later as Ellis sought to add some bite upfront.

Chantelle almost made an immediate impact when she collected the ball from half way line but her powerful was pushed away for a corner.

Kgaelebane Mohlakoana then came off for Gabriela Salgado.

Seoposenwe could have given Banyana Banyana a two-goal cushion but her attempt was saved by the Lesotho goalkeeper.

Line Up:

  1. Roxanne Barker
  2. Lebohang Ramalepe
  3. Nothando Vilakazi
  4. Noko Matlou
  5. Regina Mogolola
  6. Kgaelebane Mohlakoana
  7. Jermaine Seoposenwe
  8. Bambanani Mbane
  9. Refiloe Jane (captain)
  10. Leandra Smeda
  11. Nompumelelo Nyandeni



  1. Mamello Makhabane
  2. Gabriela Salgado
  3. Chantelle Esau
  4. Rachel Sebati
  5. Hildah Magaia
  6. Zanele Nhlapho
  7. Andile Dlamini