30 May 2018 – The President of the South African Football Association (SAFA), Dr Danny Jordaan, has congratulated all the winners at the 2017/2018 Premier Soccer League Awards held in Johannesburg on Tuesday night (29 May 2018).

Bafana Bafana and Mamelodi Sundowns stalwart Percy Tau walked away with coveted Footballer of the Season Award, as well as the Player’s Player of the Season crown.

Also walking up to the podium are three players who are in the current South African Senior Men’s National Team that will take part in the 2018 COSAFA CUP that is currently underway in Polokwane.

The trio, Siyanda Xulu, Siphesihle Mkhize and Lebohang Maboe, were given off from the Bafana Bafana camp to attend the awards.

Xulu was named the Absa Premiership Defender of the Season, Mkhize walked away with the Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season and Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season awards, while Maboe took both the Nedbank Cup Most Improved Player of the Tournament and Player of the Tournament accolades.

Also attending the event was Innocent Maela of Orlando Pirates who lost out to Xulu. Maela is also part of the COSAFA Cup squad.

“Congratulations to all the winners and to those nominated but lost, I would like to say being nominated is great recognition already and you must walk tall,” said SAFA President Dr Danny Jordaan, who presented Tau with the Footballer of the Season trophy at the awards.

“I am excited at those who left the COSAFA camp to come and attend the ceremony. I hope their success will lift the mood in the team even higher and propel them to do well against their opponent on Sunday. To top it all, these are young players, which means the future for Bafana Bafana is very bright. We are also confident that their performance in the domestic league will rub off in the national team during qualification for the 2019 AFCON tournament.”

The four Bafana Bafana players are expected back in camp in Polokwane later today (Wednesday, 30 May) to continue with preparations for the first match of the tournament against the winners of Group A.

The Referee of the Season award went to Victor Gomes, while Zakhele Siwela, the only South African match official who will represent the country at the upcoming 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, was named Assistant Referee of the Season.



FOOTBALLER OF THE SEASON – Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season – Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season – Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season – Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season – Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season – Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season – Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)

Absa Premiership Goal of the Season – Siphelele Magubane (L. Golden Arrows)

MTN8 LAST MAN STANDING – Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)


NEDBANK CUP: Player of the Tournament – Lebogang Maboe (Maritzburg United)

NEDBANK CUP: Most Promising Player – Lebogang Maboe (Maritzburg United)

MULTICHOICE Diski Challenge Precious Find – Siboniso Conco (L. Golden Arrows)

MULTICHOICE Diski Shield Precious Find – Itumeleng Shopane (Kaizer Chiefs)