22 May 2018 – Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced a 20-man squad to participate in the 2018 COSAFA Cup tournament.

Only two overseas-based players have been called up – midfielder Gift Links (Alassiouty Sport – Egypt) and striker Luther Singh (SC Braga – Portugal).

Khulekani Kubheka, Wiseman Meyiwa and Lyle Foster – who were all in the Amajita squad that defeated Mozambique this past weekend (Sunday, 20 May 2018) – have also been included.

Siphesihle Ndlovu of Maritzburg United may have missed out on the Nedbank Cup winner’s medal – – after losing to Free State Stars in the final – but his performance this season has been rewarded with a call-up. This comes at the back of the four nominations he received for the PSL Awards – Midfielder of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Player’s Player of the Year and Footballer of the Year.

The other PSL Awards nominees included in the Senior Men’s National Team are Innocent Maela and Siyanda Xulu (Defender of the Year) – with the latter making a return to the Bafana Bafana squad after a long absence.

Kaizer Chiefs and Maritzburg United have the most players in the squad – four each. Amakhosi has Bruce Bvuma, Siyabonga Ngezana, Meyiwa and Ryan Moon, while Ndlovu, Xulu, Lebo Maboe and Fortune Makaringe are all from United.

Baxter’s men assemble for camp on Saturday, 26 May at 08h00 and will travel to Polokwane on the same day.

Training will only start on Sunday (27 May).

South Africa received a bye in the first round and will only join the COSAFA CUP action in the quarterfinal stage when they face the Winner of Group A on Sunday, 3 June 2018.

Madagascar, Mozambique, Comoros and Seychelles are in Group A, while Botswana, Angola, Mauritius and Malawi make up Group B.

The matches will be played at three venues – Old Peter Mokaba Stadium and Seshego Stadium.

The final takes place on Sunday, 9 June at the New Peter Mokaba Stadium.



26 MAY – 10 JUNE 2018


1. Bruce BVUMA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
2. Riyaard PIETERSE Supersport United FC (SA)
3. Khulekani KUBHEKA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA
4. Siyabonga NGEZANA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
5. Motjeka MADISHA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
6. Siyanda XULU Maritzburg United FC (SA)
7. Taariq FIELIES Cape Town City FC (SA)
8. Innocent MAELA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
9. Wiseman MEYIWA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
10. Siphesihle NDLOVU Maritzburg United FC (SA)
11. Fortune MAKARINGE Maritzburg United FC  (SA)
12. Aubrey MODIBA Supersport United FC (SA)
13. Jamie WEBBER  Supersport United FC (SA)
14. Lebohang MABOE Maritzburg United FC (SA)
15. Abednego MOSIATLHAGA Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
16. Neo Gift LINKS Alassiouty Sport FC (Egypt)
17. Gift MOTUPA Baroka  FC (SA)
18. Lyle FOSTER Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
19. Ryan MOON Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
20. Luther SINGH SC Braga B FC (Portugal)


No Match GP Date





Old Peter Mokaba

2. COMOROS V SEYCHELLES A 27/05/2018 16h30 Old Peter Mokaba
3. BOTSWANA V ANGOLA B 28/05/2018 17h00 Old Peter Mokaba
4. MAURITIUS V MALAWI B 28/05/2018 19h30 Old Peter Mokaba
5. MOZAMBIQUE V COMOROS A 29/05/2018 17h00 Seshego
6. SEYCHELLES V MADAGASCAR A 29/05/2018 19h30 Seshego
7. ANGOLA V MAURITIUS B 30/05/2018 17h00 Seshego
8. MALAWI V BOTSWANA B 30/05/2018 19h30 Seshego
9. MADAGASCAR V COMOROS A 31/05/2018 17h30 Old Peter Mokaba
1. MOZAMBIQUE V SEYCHELLES A 31/05/2018 17h30 Seshego
11. BOTSWANA V MAURITIUS B 01/06/2018 17h30 Old Peter Mokaba
12. ANGOLA V MALAWI B 01/06/2018 17h30 Seshego


13. ZAMBIA V NAMIBIA 02/06/2018 15h00 Old Peter Mokaba
14. LESOTHO V SWAZILAND 02/06/2018 17h30 Old Peter Mokaba
15. SOUTH AFRICA V WIN. GROUP A 03/06/2018 15h00 Old Peter Mokaba
16. ZIMBABWE V WIN. GROUP B 03/06/2018 17h30 Old Peter Mokaba






17. LOSER M13 V LOSER M15 05/06/2018 17h00 Old Peter Mokaba
18. LOSER M14 V LOSER M16 05/06/2018 19h30 Old Peter Mokaba
19. WIN. M13 V WIN. M15 06/06/2018 17h00 New Peter Mokaba
20. WIN. M14 V WIN. M16 06/06/2018 19h30 New Peter Mokaba
21. WIN. 17 V WIN. M18 08/06/2018 17h00 New Peter Mokaba
22. LOSER M19 V LOSER M20 08/06/2018 19h30 New Peter Mokaba
23. WIN. M19 V WIN. M20 09/06/2018 15h00 New Peter Mokaba