10 May 2018 – The Burger King-sponsored South African U20 Men’s National Team (Amajita) has completed it’s preparations for the crucial first leg second round CAF U20 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Mozambique.

The team has departed for Beira City where they will face the host nation on Saturday, 12 May 2018 at Campo de Ferroviaro da Beira, with a 15h00 kick-off.

Head coach Thabo Senong has trimmed his squad of 27 to only 20 players.

Missing out on the trip to Mozambique are goalkeeper Giovanni Idi (University of Pretoria); defenders Gcina Mlotshwa (Bloemfontein Celtic), Thabo Mokoena (Kaizer Chiefs) and Saluleko Mathonsi (Wits University); midfielder Roberto Fragale (Highlands Park) and strikers, Tristan Nikitaridis (University of Johannesburg) as well as Jermaine George (Old Mutual Academy).

Amajita return to South Africa on Sunday, 13 May and are expected to move their base camp to Rustenburg the next day (Monday, 14 May) for the second leg, which is scheduled for Sunday, 20 May 2018 at the Moruleng Stadium at 15h00.

The AFCON tournament will take place in Niger from 24 February to 10 March 2019.

Eight nations will participate in the competition – and the top four countries will qualify as African representatives for the 2019 FIFA U20 tournament to be held in Poland.





Khulekani KUBHEKA


Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

2. Glen BAARTJIES Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
3. Thabo MALOISANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
4. Givemore KHUPE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
5. Njabulo BLOM Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
6. Malebogo MODISE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
7. Siphesihle MKHIZE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
8. Luke FLUERS Ubuntu FC (SA)
9. Reece VETTER Randburg FC (SA)
10. Goodman MOSELE Baroka FC (SA)
11. Wiseman MEYIWA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA))
12. Nkosingiphile NGCOBO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
13. Tashreeq MATTHEWS Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
14. Keagan MITCHEL Black Aces FC (SA)
15. Jesse DONN Ubuntu FC (SA)
16. Kobamelo KODISANG Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
17. Promise MKHUMA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
18. Shungu DUTIRO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
19. Lyle FOSTER Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
20. Duncan ADONIS Ubuntu FC (SA)