7 May 2018– The South African U20 Men’s National Team (Amajita) wasted no time in getting down to business as they prepare for the upcomign CAF U20 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Mozambique.

The first leg clash takes place on Saturday, 12 May 2018 at Campo de Ferroviaro da Beira in Beira City, Mozambique.

Kickfoff is at 15h00.

“We had a good first day of training, which was nice and easy because most of the boys were playing over the weekend so we had to underload them just to make sure they are fresh,” said Amajita head coach Thabo Senong.

“I was quite impressed by the attendance, and I must say a very big thank you to all the clubs – PSL, NFD, ABC and MDC – who released their players, we are quite excited with the corporation. All we have to do is to make sure we gel quicky into a team as we are playing a very tough match against Mozambique.

The second leg is scheduled for the following weekend (Sunday, 20 May 2018) at a venue yet to be confirmed in South Africa.

Kickoff is also at 15h00.

Senong has called up 28 players in camp – which will be trimmed down to 20 before the squad’s departure to Mozambique.

Of the 28, only three could not be released by their clubs – Sibusiso Mabiliso (Amazulu), Bradley Cross (Bidvest Wits) as well as Belgium-based Keith Groeneveld.

“It is quite unfortunate that we could not get those players, but we don’t see this as a challenge, it is actually an opportunity for another player to come in as we have a very good pool of players,” added Senong.

They have already been replaced by Saluleko Mathonsi (Wits University)and Tristan Nikitaridis (University of Johannesburg) – bringing the squad to 27 players in total.

The team leaves for Mozambique on Thursday, 10 May, and will return to South Africa on Sunday, 13 May.

The AFCON tournament will take place in Niger from 24 February to 10 March 2019.

Eight nations will participate in the competition – and the the top four countries will qualify as African representatives for the 2019 FIFA U20 tournament to be held in Poland.






Khulekani KUBHEKA


Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

2. Glen BAARTJIES Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
3. Giovanni IDI University of Pretoria FC (SA)
4. Thabo MALOISANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
5. Gcina MLOTSWA Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)
6. Givemore KHUPE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
7. Njabulo BLOM Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
8. Thabo MOKOENA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
10. Malebogo MODISE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
11. Siphesihle MKHIZE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
12. Luke FLUERS Ubuntu FC (SA)
13. Reece VETTER Randburg FC (SA)
14. Goodman MOSELE Baroka FC (SA)
15. Wiseman MEYIWA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA))
16. Roberto FRAGALE Highlands Park FC (SA)
17. Nkosingiphile NGCOBO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
18. Tashriq MATTHEWS Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
19. Keagan MITCHEL Black Aces FC (SA)
20. Jesse DONN Ubuntu FC (SA)
21. Kobamelo KODISANG Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
22. Promise MKHUMA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
23. Shungu DUTIRO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
24. Lyle FOSTER Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
25. Jermaine GEORGE Old Mutual Academy FC (SA)
26. Duncan ADONIS Ubuntu FC (SA)