2 May 2018 – Former Kaizer Chiefs and Bloemfontein Celtic defender, Mokete Tsotetsi is determined to guide his club to the National First Division (NFD) after leading his side, Maccabi FC to their second league title in dramatic fashion, clinching the title on the very last day of the season.

The tightly contested race was between Maccabi and JDR Stars FC who occupied the top spot for the better half of the season but dropped vital points towards the end to allow Maccabi to reduce the gap and eventually pip them to the title.

With a narrow two-point lead going into their last game against the unpredictable Pretoria Callies, JDR suffered a disappointing 2-1 defeat while Maccabi capitalised on their rival’s banana skid with a 3-0 thrashing of Dube Continental, securing a place in the play offs where they will hope to put up a much better performance than last season and secure a place in the NFD.

“It is a clear indication of character that was displayed by the boys. Winning the league on the very last day of the season shows how competitive the league has become and I am very proud that my boys and the technical team remained focus and did not lose hope even though JDR had an advantage” said Tsotetsi.

Speaking to SAFA.net at the club’s training session on Wednesday morning, the 35-year-old coach who also had a stint with EC Bees said they will be going all out in this year’s play offs and are determined to a secure spot in the NFD.

“Looking at the fact that we have been there before, we know what it takes to win the play offs. It is very difficult but I believe we have learned from last year’s mistakes and by rectifying them, and the fact that we have new players, we can definitely put up a good showing,” concluded Tsotetsi.

Gauteng ABC Motsepe League Season Results 

Gauteng ABC Mostepe League Table

Mokete Tsotetsi Fact File

Names: Mokete Reuben
Surname: Tsotetsi
Place of Birth: Boipatong, Vaal
Playing Position: Defender

Clubs Played For:

2002 – 2002    Wits University (Bidvest Wits)
2003 – 2004    FC Sporting
2004 – 2007    Jomo Cosmos
2007 – 2009    Kaizer Chiefs
2009 – 2010    Bloemfontein Celtic
2010 – 2011     Vasco Da Gama
2011 – 2012     MP Black Aces
2013 – 2014     Roses United