22 April 2018– The South African U17 Women’s National Team (Bantwana) will kick off Phase Two of their Road to Uruguay with a preparation camp that starts in Johannesburg on Sunday, 22 April 2018.

Phase One was qualification for the tournament – which has been achieved – Phase Two is the preparation for the competition and the third and last Phase is participating in the tournament.

Bantwana have qualified for the 2018 FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup that will take place in Uruguay from 13 November to 1 December.

South Africa qualified following wins over Botswana and Morocco.

This was their second ever entrance into the FIFA World Cup – the last time was in 2010 in Trinidad and Tobago, under head coach Solly Luvhengo.

Bantwana was last in action in February when they defeated Morocco in the second leg played in Sale, Morocco.

Head coach Simphiwe Dludlu has called up 24 players for the first preparation camp that kicks off on Sunday, 22 April in Johannesburg.

The former Banyana Banyana captain has kept the bulk of the squad that did duty in the qualifiers but has also called up new faces like Surprise Mphigalale (striker – HPC), Nkamogeleng Tshoke (midfielder – SAFA Johannesburg), Elzandre Maart (defender – Randburg FC), Jamie-Leigh Plaatjies (defender – Tuks) and Siphesihle Dlamini (goalkeeper – SAFA Johannesburg).


  • Have not lost a game in the qualifiers
  • Received a bye in the preliminary round
  • Faced neighbours Botswana in the first round in December 2017 – winnning 5-2 in the first leg, before wrapping it up two weeks later with a 6-4 victory (11-6 on aggregate)
  • Early this year, hosted and defeated Morocco 5-1 at the Dobsonville Stadium – setting one foot in Uruguay
  • Passage to the greatest football spectacle was confirmed when they beat Morocco 1-0 away
  • Scored 17 goals in four matches, conceded 7

Only three countries will represent the African continent in Uruguay.

The other two nations are Ghana and Cameroon.

The 2018 FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup draw will be conducted on Wednesday, 30 May 2018 at the FIFA Headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland.


Friday, 1 December 2017

Lobatse Sports Complex

Lobatse, Botswana

1stLeg 1stRound

Botswana              2 – 5        South Africa


Saturday, 16 December 2017

Dobsonville Stadium

South Africa

2ndLeg 1stRound

South Africa        6 – 4        Botswana


Sunday, 4 February 2018

Dobsonville Stadium

South Africa

1stLeg 2ndRound

South Africa        5 – 1        Morocco


Saturday, 17 February 2018

Stade Boubker Ammar



2ndLeg 2ndRound

Morocco               0 – 1        South Africa



1. Kaydee Windvogel HPC
2. Leigh Brophy University of Cape Town
3. Mananki Makhoana Shining Stars
4. Siphesihle Dlamini SAFA Johannesburg
5. Yenzokuhle Ngubane SUNFLOWER WFC
6. Lonathemba Mhlongo Durban Ladies
7. Kaylin Jordan HPC/SPURS FC
8. Yolanda Nduli SUNFLOWER WFC
9. Fikile Magama HEROES UNITED
10. Elzandre Maart SAFA Johannesburg
11. Cynthia Makete Rustenburg Ladies
12. Oratile Mokwena SUNDOWNS FC
13. Zethembiso Vilakazi LINDELANI FC
14. Miche Minnies SANTOS FC
15. Jamie-Leigh Plaatjes TUKS
16. Karabo Dlamini SUNDOWNS FC
17. Thubelihle Shamase SUNFLOWER WFC
18. Sibulele Holweni HPC
19. Siphumele Shamase SUNFLOWER WFC
20. Nkamogeleng Tshoke SAFA Johannesburg
21. Thambolinye Mzoneli SUNFLOWER WFC
22. Nicole Michael University of Johannesburg
23. Surprise Mphigalale HPC
24. Christy Noble HPC