10 April 2018 – The 2017/18 SAFA Limpopo ABC Motsepe League concluded on Sunday with the launch of an innovative top 8 challenge by the league set to take place from 9 to 26 May. Dolphins FC were crowned champions for the second time in a row and will be representing the province at this year’s national play offs.

The Oscar Mphetha Stadium at the University of Limpopo’s Turfloop campus hosted the remaining four fixtures of the league while at the same time launching the upcoming VW SAFA Limpopo Challenge.

Boynes Tigers finished in second place after cementing their spot with a one-all  draw with third placed Great North in the match of the day, while Tshakhuma Tsha Mazivhandila beat Magezi 3-1 in the opening.

Madritas FC came back from behind to end off their season with a 3-2 victory over Molemole Academy while Mighty  beat Polokwane Academy 2-0 in the last match of the day.

SAFA Limpopo Province Chairperson of Commercial and National Executive Member Ria Ledwaba congratulated all 16 teams for an exciting and competitive ABC Motsepe League, season while also launching the VW SAFA Limpopo Challenge.

“This has been a good season of football and we want to congratulate Dolphins for winning the provincial league. We believe that they will represent us very well at the ABC Motsepe League National play offs later this year. We also want to congratulate the top 8 teams for their hard work throughout the season, and automatic qualification for the VW SAFA Limpopo Challenge” said Ledwaba.

The SAFA Limpopo VW Challenge will be hosted in May this year in close conjuction with various key stakeholders which include Volkswagen, the Department of Sports & Recreation, Arts and Culture, Polokwane Municipality, ABSA, Vodacom, LaLiga and Selakisports.

The first quarterfinal will take place on Wednesday, 9 May at Seshego Stadium with the other three taking place on Saturday, 12 May at Giyani Stadium.

The semi-finals of the tournament will be played on Saturday, 19 May at Thohoyandou Stadium with the grand finale to be hosted by Old Peter Mokaba Stadium the following Saturday,  26 May.


SAFA Limpopo Challenge:

Date: 9 – 26 May 2018

Participating Teams:

The Dolphins

Boyne Tigers

Great North FCC

Polokwane United FC

Ndengeza FC

Polokwane Academy

Mikhado FC

Baroka FC