13 March 2018 – Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced a 25-man squad to participate in a 4-Nation Tournament scheduled for Zambia from 21 – 24 March 2018.

The other three teams featuring in the double-header event are hosts Zambia, Angola and Zimbabwe.

Baxter has made 14 changes to the squad that last played against Senegal in November last year in the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier – bringing in goalkeepers Brendon Peterson and Darren Keet, defenders Reeve Frosler, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Daniel Cardoso, Buhle Mkhwanazi and Innocent Maela; midfielders Siphesihle Ndlovu, Tebogo Mokoena, Aubrey Modiba and Thembinkosi Lorch, as well as strikers Lebo Mothiba and Ryan Moon.

Bafana Bafana has faced all three countries in various competitions and international friendly matches before.

Zambia is the highest ranked country among all four nations – sitting at 15th on the continent and 76th in the world. Hot on their heels is South Africa, who are 16th and 77th respectively.

Zimbabwe and Angola are ranked 25th (105) and 41st (141).

Bafana Bafana will play the first game against Angola at 15h00 on Wednesday, 21 March while hosts, Zambia tackle Zimbabwe at a later fixture. Both matches take place at the Levy Mwanawasa Stadium.

The losers in the two matches will fight for bronze on Saturday, 24 March, also at Levy Mwanawasa Stadium at 15h00. The final will be contested by the winners of the match day 1 with the match taking place the same day at 18h00.

Bafana Bafana assemble for camp on Sunday, 18 March and will depart for Zambia two days later (Tuesday, 20 March).

Baxter’s men are expected back in the country on Sunday, 25 March.

4-Nation Tournament Fixtures:

(All matches at Levy Mwanawasa Stadium – Ndola)

Wednesday, 21 March 2018

South Africa vs Angola


Zambia vs Zimbabwe


Saturday, 24 March 2018

Losers 1 vs Losers 2


Winners 1 vs Winners 2



1. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
2. Darren KEET Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
3. Brendon PETERSON Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
4. Reeve  FROSLER Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
5. Ramahlwe MPHAHLELE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
6. Thulani HLATSHWAYO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
7. Motjeka MADISHA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
8. Daniel CARDOSO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
9. Buhle MKHWANAZI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
10. Innocent MAELA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
11. S’Fiso HLANTI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
12. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
13. Siphesihle NDLOVU Maritzburg United FC (SA)
14. Kamohelo MOKOTJO Brentfort FC (England)
15. Teboho MOKOENA Supersport United FC (SA)
16. Bongani ZUNGU Amiens FC (France)
17. Aubrey MODIBA Supersport United FC (SA)
18. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
19. Thembinkosi LORCH Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
20. Keagan DOLLY Montpellier FC (France)
21. Phakamani MAHLAMBI AL Ahly FC (Egypt)
22. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
23. Percy TAU Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
24. Lebo MOTHIBA Lille FC (FRANCE)
25. Ryan MOON Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)