7 March 2018 – Belgium came from a goal down to defeat Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana 2-1 in the 5th/6th place play-off of the Cyprus Women’s Cup at the GSZ Stadium in Larnaca, Cyprus on Wednesday, 7 March 2018.

Despite the two teams playing their fourth matches in eight days, the games started at a very furious pace with South Africa dictating terms. In the 13th minute Noko Matlou found herself face to face with the opposition goalkeeper but her shot was saved.

Five minutes later she made amends when she found herself unmarked again in the box and this time she made no mistake. Despite the efforts of the Belgian defence to clear it, they kicked into the net to give South Africa a 1-0 lead.

This was Matlou’s 64th goal in 140 international appearances – and perhaps a special one as she has been brought in as a striker in this match, a position she enjoyed great success in in the past before converting to defence.

In the 33rd minute the Banyana Banyana defence was caught napping, and Belgium captain Tessa Wullaerts punished them with a well-taken shot, that hit the top corner of the net.

Sensing danger, South Africa pulled off Regina Mogolola and brought in Lebohang Ramalepe to strengthen the right side of defence, where Belgium was having a free run.

The end-to-end game continued in the second half with sides looking for a winner.

Banyana Banyana captain Janine van Wyk had a go at the Belgium keeper but her shot was saved.

Next was Matlou to try her luck when she was free on goal, but she was also denied by the keeper – it was brave-goalkeeping by Evrard as she through herself into the shot to keep the score line unchanged.

In the 60th minute, Seoposenwe found a hole in the Belgium defence but Davina Philtjens saved her shot off the line.

The Europeans were now dictating terms, with South Africa chasing the shadows. They could have scored in the 83rd if Yana had kept her composure – after she beat her marker, she ballooned her shot with the keeper at her mercy.

But she did make up for it with four minutes left on the clock – she was unmarked in the box and met a beautiful cross with a great header to beat Swart and give Belgium a 2-1 lead.

Ellis made several changes but they did not have the desired effect – Chantelle Esau coming in for Melinda Kgadiete, Zanele Nhlapho making her first appearance in the tournament as she took the place of Linda Motlhalo, and Jermaine Seoposenwe making way for Kgaelebane Mohlakoana.

In the end, Belgium held on for victory to take fifth place in the tournament as they pushed South Africa all the way, especially in the second half.

Banyana Banyana finish in position six – the same as in their inaugural tournament in 2009.

This was sweet revenge for the Europeans as they lost 1-0 to South Africa in the same competition in 2015.

This was South Africa’s first loss in the tournament, and also the first time they conceded goals.

In other matches, Finland took 11th place following a 2-0 victory over Hungary, the Czech Republic finished 9th after defeating Slovakia 5-2, Austria came out 7th as they edged out Wales 3-2 on penalties (both were tied at 1-1 after regulation time), while Korea DPR were 3rd – they beat Switzerland 2-1.

The final between Spain and Italy was scheduled for later in the evening.

The South Africans return home on Friday, 9 March and expected to land at the OR Tambo International Airport at 10h35.

Banyana Banyana results at 2018 Cyprus Cup:

South Africa        0 – 0        Slovakia

South Africa        1 – 0        Hungary

South Africa        0 – 0        Korea DPR

South Africa        1 – 2        Belgium



Finland                  2 – 0        Hungary                      Tasos Marko, Paralimni

(11/12th place)

Czech Rep.           5 – 2         Slovakia                     GSZ Stadium, Larnaca

(9/10th place)

Wales                     1 – 1        Austria                     AEK Arena, Larnaca

(7-8th place) Austria won 3-2 on penalties

Belgium                 2 – 1        South Africa           GSZ Stadium, Larnaca

(5-6th place)

Switzerland         1 – 2        DPR Korea              Tasos Marko, Paralimni

(3-4th place)

Italy – Spain                                     18:00     AEK Arena, Larnaca


This is how they lined up:

South Africa:

Kaylin Swart (GK), Regina Mogolola (Lebogang Ramalepe), Leandra Smeda, Bambanani Mbane, Janine van Wyk (c), Nompumelelo Nyandeni, Linda Motlhalo (Zanele Nhlapho), Thembi Kgatlana, Jermaine Seoposenwe (Kgaelebane Mohlakoana), Melinda Kgadiete (Chantelle Esau), Noko Matlou


Andile Dlamini (GK), Roxanne Barker (GK), Nothando Vilakazi, Zanele Nhlapho, Sduduzo Dlamini, Lebohang Ramalepe, Chantelle Esau, Refiloe Jane, Rachel Sebati, Kgaelebane Mohlakoana

Coach: Desiree Ellis


Evrard Nicky (GK), Philtjens Davina, Tison Charlotte, Wullaert Tessa (C), Wijnants Sarah, Daniels Yana, Van Den Abbeele Nicky, Blom Jassina, Vanhaevermaet Justine, Guns Celine, Vanwynsberghe Silke


Odeurs Justine (GK), Cayman Janice, Coryn Jana, Coutereels Maud, De Neve Laura, Deloose Laura, D’Hondt Elena, Jaques Heleen, Ndoutou Missipo Kassandra, Onzia Lenie, ,

Coach: Serneel Ives