28 February 2018 – Head coach of the Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana, Desiree Ellis, has announced her starting eleven to face Slovakia and made three changes to the squad that faced Sweden in an international friendly last month in Cape Town.

South Africa and Slovakia meet this afternoon (Wednesday, 28 February 2018) in the Cyprus Women’s Cup at 13h00.

Andile Dlamini returns to goals in place of Kaylin Swart who was between the sticks against Sweden.

In the middle of the park, Houston Dash-bound Linda Motlhalo takes the place of Nompumelelo Nyandeni while Jermaine Seoposenwe has been given the nod to start ahead of forward Sduduzo Dlamini.

Playing in front of Andile Dlamini in the rearguard will be Lebohang Ramalepe at right back, with Nothando Vilakazi covering the left back position. Captain Janine van Wyk, who will be playing in her 146th match for South Africa, will partner with Bambanani Mbane at central defence.

Motlhalo will operate from the heart of the midfield alongside vice captain Refiloe Jane, while Seoposenwe and Leandra Smeda will be on the wings.

Thembi Kgatlana and Chantelle Esau have been given the task of looking for goals.

Banyana Banyana starting 11 vs Slovakia

Andile Dlamini (GK), Lebohang Ramalepe, Nothando Vilakazi, Bambanani Mbane, Janine van Wyk (c), Linda Motlhalo, Refiloe Jane, Leandra Smeda, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Thembi Kgatlana, Chantelle Esau


Kaylin Swart (GK), Roxanne Barker (GK), Noko Matlou, Zanele Nhlapho, Regina Mogolola, Rachel Sebati, Nompumelelo Nyandeni, Kgaelebane Mohlakoana, Melinda Kgadiete, Sduduzo Dlamini

Coach: Desiree Ellis