8 January 2018 – The South African U-17 Men’s National Football team (Amajimbos) will start 2018 with a training camp ahead of what will be a busy year.

The National u17 team will be hoping to qualify for the 2019 CAF U-17 African Cup of Nations and 2019 FIFA U-17 World Cup. They will also be involved in the annual COSAFA Cup u17 tournament scheduled for Mauritius.

Head Coach Molefi Ntseki has picked a group of 36 players who have been under his radar for the past year and will hold a training camp which will run from 10-20 January 2018 in Johannesburg.

Ntseki says he was looking at securing a friendly match or two against a top African country ahead of this year’s heavy schedule.

Ntseki was hard at work in 2017, having participated in the year’s edition of the COSAFA U-17 Youth Championships, a camp in December and conducting Coaching Courses around the country.

“We have picked a good mixture of the u17 squad comprising players from various academies and High Schools around the country.

“Some of these players have already earned their first few international caps; after participating in the COSAFA Youth Championships in Mauritius last year, and a few others in Lesotho last year.

“I believe that with time and many camps we can put together a great squad for the development of South African football. We have a talented bunch of 2002-born players and a new generation which has the potential to bring something new to our football,” said Ntseki.

Full squad:

1. Constandino Christodoulou Gk Maritzburg United KZN
2. Thabang Maema Gk School of Excellence Gauteng
3. Lesedi Mokwena Gk Brebner High Free State
4. Lebohang Nthene GK Louis Botha Free State
5. Parsley Fielies LB Bastiaanse Northern Cape
6.              Bryn Deeley LB Black Aces Gauteng
7. Hendrik Scheepers LB Grey College Free State
8. Bongolwethu Siyasi RB Ajax Cape Town Western Cape
9.. Monray Marais RB School of Excellence Gauteng
10. Sanele Zwane R Winger KZN academy KZN
11. Leronti Tsotetsi RB Kaizer Chiefs Gauteng
12. Leorando Rooi CB School of Excellence Gauteng
13. Rivaldo Present CB Fish Hoek Academy Western Cape
14. Mihlali Damesi CB Charles Morgan Eastern Cape
15. Nelson Ralenkwane CB Navalsig High Free State
16. Athenkosi Mcaba CB Bidvest Wits Gauteng
17. Vusimusi Plamana CM Fish Hoek Academy Western Cape
18. Cade Erickson CM Ajax Cape Town Cape Town
19. Storm Jonas CM Bidvest Wits Gauteng
20. Ofentse Mpiwa CM Grey College Free State
21 Junior Netshikule CM Northern Academy Limpopo
22 Dante Brown CAM Ajax Cape Town Western Cape
23. Mehluleli Maphumulo CAM Kaizer Chiefs Gauteng
24. Thato Matli CAM Mamelodi Sundowns Gauteng
25. Mohammed Shahabodien CAM Africa Sport Academy Gauteng
26. Thando Buthelezi CAM Mamelodi Sundowns Gauteng
27. James Mcfarlane WRM Kaizer Chiefs Gauteng
28. Jean Pierre WRM Ajax Cape Town Western Cape
29. Rorisang Khosa WRM Mamelodi Sundowns Gauteng
30. Lutho Maneli WLM Grey College Free State
31. Andile Simelane WLM Bidvest Wits Gauteng
32. Lulama Nxumalo WLM Mamelodi Sundowns Gauteng
33. Motlhalosi Nare Striker Black Aces Gauteng
34. Boitumelo Radiopane Striker School of Excellence Gauteng
35. Olefile Ramatlo Striker Meadowlands Gauteng
36 Mthokozisi Balakasi Striker Kaizer Chiefs Gauteng