16 December 2017 – The Burger King-sponsored South African Men’s U20 National Team beat Lesotho 2-1 to claim the 2017 COSAFA U20 Youth Championships trophy on Saturday, 16 December 2017 in Kitwe, Zambia.

This match was played at Arthur Davies Stadium and produced the expected fireworks.

Amajita dominated the first half where they managed to score their two goals through a Lyle Foster finish in the first 5 minutes of the match and a finish for Sambo in the 39th minute.

Lesotho put up a great fight from kickoff and managed to find their only goal of the match in the 59th minute when substitute Mokokoane scored a stunning long range from a free kick from the centre line, which South African goalkeeper Tshabalala could do nothing about.

“Congratulations to the players and also to Lesotho. They put up a very good challenge and it showed throughout the match. We dominated the first half and relaxed after scoring the two goals and this allowed Lesotho the confidence to dominate the second half. They could have easily found the equalizer but we should have also converted a few clear chances we had” said Senong.

We have achieved all the objectives that we set for ourselves coming into this tournament and it is even nicer that we will go home with the trophy;”said Senong

Luvuyo Mkatshana was named 2017 COSAFA U20 Player of the Tournament.

South African starting XI: Sanele Tshabalala  (GK); Sibusiso Mabiliso; Kamohelo Sambo; Thendo Mukumela (c); Keanu Cupido; Thabani Zuke; Siphumelele Mbulu (Sibiya 82’); Luvuyo Mkatshana; Happy Mashiane; Katlego Ntsabeleng; Lyle Foster (Maswanganyi 64’)

South Africa substitutions: Khulekani Kubheka; Renaldo Leaner; Malebogo Modise; Kiyaam Bull; Bradley Cross; Patrick Maswanganyi; Sifundo Sibiya;

Suspended: George Matlou

Rested: Nkosingiphile Ngcobo

Lesotho starting XI: Monaheng Ramalefane (GK); Mokoteli Mohapi; Relebohile Mabone; Mohai Mohai; Seeiso Lerotholi; Peter Khemisi; Batlang Mokhele; Raboama Koloti; Tanki Seoli; Liteboho Nkune (c); Bonang Mohapi

Lesotho substitutions: Kopano Silase (GK); Rethabile Mokokoane; Katleho Makateng; Thaane Mokoena; Lehlohonolo Masienyane; Keletso Tlhaba; Tseliso Botsane; Itumeleng Leche

Match Officials

 Referee:                             Abdoul Ohabee Kanoso (Madagascar)

1st Assistant referee:         James Fedrick Emile (Seychelles)

2nd Assistant Referee:       Vivian Vally (Mauritius)

Match Commissioner:       Onias Felix Tangawarima (Zimbabwe)



Thanks !

Thanks for sharing this, you are awesome !