4 December 2017 – The 2017 Sasol League National Championship got off to a flying start with 14 goals scored on Day 1 of the prestigious women’s tournament currently underway at the Kabokweni Stadium in Nelspruit, Mpumalanga.

Defending champions Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies were the first to make an impression with a convincing 3-0 victory over the star-studded Mamelodi Sundowns in the opening fixture of the competition.

Celtic led 2-0 at the break with goals from Boitumelo Rabale and Emily Moholoholo, before Rabale put the final nail in the coffin with the third in the second half – earning herself the Diski Queen of the Match, which is accompanied by a cheque of two-thousand rand.

The result saw the Free State side take the top position in Group C, dubbed the Group of Death.

In Group B, it was a walk in the part for hosts Coal City Wizards as they defeated RC Mills of Northern Cape 6-0 in the second match of the day.

Neo Mzaza and Roseline Hadebe both scored two goals each, while the other goals came from Thobile Nhleko and Jane Mnisi against a side that never looked threatening.

Thabisile Thaga was named Diski Queen of the Match.

The last fixture of the day was reserved for two debutants in the tournament – De Scorpion of North West and KwaZulu Natal’s Sunflower.

The latter were the more organised and enterprising in their play – and it was not a surprise when they took a 2-0 lead at the break with a brace from Sphumele Shamase, one of the identical twins in the KZN side.

This is an exciting period for the midfielder as she also made her debut in the South African U17 Women’s National Team in their 5-2 victory over Botswana in a 2018 FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup qualifier on Friday, 1 December 2017 at the Lobatse Sports Complex.

Lerato Leebone pulled one back for the North West side but this only served to spur on Sunflower as they grabbed two more goals through Ntombifikile Ndlovu and the other twin sister – Thubelihle Shamase.

The match ended 4-1, with Sunflower winning the Battle of the Debutants, with Nelisiwe Luthuli walking away with the Diski Queen of the Match award.

This is the 9th edition of the tournament and it continues on Tuesday, 5 December with three fixtures set to enthrall the crowds.

RC Mills will have to pull up their socks if they are to remain in the tournament – they face another debutant, Thunderbirds from the Eastern Cape in the morning kickoff (10h30).

Sunflower will be back in action as they take on Cape Town Roses at 13h00. Another win for the KZN outfit will see them book their place in the last four.

Sundowns will be fighting for their lives in an anticipated tough battle agains Kanatla Ladies from Limpopo.

Kickoff is at 15h30.

All matches will be played at Kabokweni Stadium in Nelspruit.

The Sasol League National Championship provides a platform for the nine (9) provincial winners of the Sasol Leagues to battle it out for the top honours of being crowned the national champions.

The competition runs from 4-9 December 2017.

The three group winners will be joined by the best runner up in the semi-final.



Monday, 4 December 2017

Bloemfointein Celtic     3          0          Mamelodi Sundowns

Coal City Wizards        6          0          RC Mills

De’Scorpions               4          1          Sunflower


Tuesday, 5 December 2017

RC Mills vs Thunderbirds                                                        10h30

Sunflower vs Cape Town Roses                                           13h00

Mamelodi Sundowns vs Kanatla Ladies                                 15h30


Wednesday, 6 December 2017

Cape Town Roses      vs De Scorpions                                             13h00

Kanatla Ladies            vs Bloemfontein Celtic                         13h00

Thunderbirds               vs Coal City Wizards                                       15h30