21 November 2017 – The Burger King-sponsored South African Men’s Under-20 National Team, played a practice match against the Bidvest Wits reserve team on Tuesday morning as they continue with their preparations for the 2017 COSAFA U20 Youth Championships to be hosted in Kitwe, Zambia from 6-16 December 2017.

Although Amajita won 2-1 in the practice match Head Coach Thabo Senong, was not too concerned about getting a result in the match saying that the focus was more on implementing the style of play to the players while monitoring their strengths and weaknesses in different game situations.

The Burger King-sponsored National U20 team currently has 24 players in camp and are  hard at work in preparation for the regional showpiece next month.

The team will play their second practice match this afternoon, against the University of Johannesburg which will give the head coach a chance to see all 24 players in action and make his decision in terms of selecting his final squad.

“These matched are not necessaritly about getting a result but rather to see the players in the Amajita set up. I am impressed with their level of hunger and the ability to keep the shape that I want however; there are always things to be worked on in football” said Senong.

We have a second match this afternoon and we will have a better understanding of all their strengths and weaknesses”

Amajita preliminary squad:


1. Sanele TSHABALALA Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
2. Renald LEANER Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
3. Sirgio Jade KAMMIES Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
4. Kamogelo Thomas SAMBO Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
5. Thendo MUKUMELA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
6. Samkelo MGWAZELA Royal Eagles FC (SA)
7. Kiyam BULL Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
8. Lethabo MAZIBUKO Orlando Pirates  FC (SA)
9. Azola MTSABO Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
10. Sbusiso Gideon MABILISO Platinum Stars FC (SA)


12. Charles BALOYI Platinum Stars FC (SA)
13. Thabani ZUKE Golden Arrows FC (SA)
14. Luke VENTER Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
15. Katlego NTSHABELENG University of Johannesburg  (SA)
16. Sibusiso Victor Luthando  MAGAQA Amazulu FC (SA)
17. Patrick MASWANGANYI Stars of Africa Acedemy  (SA)
18. Sifundo Jesus SIBIYA Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
19. Happy MASHIANE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
20. Lehlogonolo George MATLOU Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
21. Luvuyo MKATSHANA Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
22. Leleta SKELEM Maties F.C  (SA)
23. Karabo NGWENYA Santos FC (SA)
24. Sibongiseni HLENGWA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)