21 November 2017 – Fresh from announcing the renewal of their partnership with the South African Football Association (SAFA) for a further four years, Sasol and SAFA have increased the overall prize money for the 2017 Sasol League National Championship from two-hundred-thousand-rand (R200.000.00) to half a million rand (R500.000.00).

A mouthwatering two-hundred-thousand-rand (R200.000.00) will be up for grabs for the winners of the year-ending club competition.

There will also be five cheques on offer of five-thousand rand (R5000.00) each going to the Diski Queen of the Tournament, Goalkeeper of the Tournament, Top Goalscorer of the Tournament, Most Promising Queen of the Tournament, as well as the Queen of Queens of the Tournament.

Furthermore, the Diski Queen of the Match, in every game, will walk away with two-thousand-rand (R2000.00).

The fans are also in for a treat as they will stand a chance to win daily grocery vouchers for the duration of the tournament – from Day 1 until the final.

The match officials and the Coach of the Tournament will receive gold medals as a token of appreciation.

All of this comes hot on the heels of Sasol offering, for the first time ever, ten-thousand-rand (R10.000.00) to the Diski Queen of the Match in Banyana Banyana matches – starting with the international friendly clash agaisnt Burkina Faso played last month, which South Africa won 4-0. The inaugural award went to striker Thembi Kgatlana.

Meanwhile, the draw for the eagerly anticipated 9th edition of the Sasol League National Championship took place today at SAFA House.

The tournament provides a platform for the nine (9) provincial winners of the Sasol Leagues to battle it out for the top honours of being crowned the national champions.

This year the tournament will be hosted by Coal City Wizards who finished in fourth place in 2016. The competition will be held at Kabokweni Stadium (just outside Nelspruit) in Mpumalanga from 4-9 December 2017.

Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies are back in the mix to defend the title they won when they defeated Gauteng’s JVW FC in the final at the D’Almeida Stadium in Mosselbay in 2016.

The two-time former national champions make their return to the season ending tournament after missing out on the previous edition, while Cape Town Roses make an appearance for the first time since clinching the title back in 2014.

Other teams that have qualified for the 2017 Sasol League National Championship are: Thunderbirds Ladies (Eastern Cape), *Kanatla Ladies/Ma-Indies (Limpopo), Sunflower FC (KwaZulu Natal), De’Scorpion FC (North West) and RC Mills (Northern Cape). *A disciplinary enquiry will determine the eventual representatives for Limpopo

Of the 9 teams for the 2017 Sasol League National Championship, only three teams played in the 2016 edition of the tournament – Celtic (2016 champions), Kanatla (3rd place) and Coal City Wizards (4th place).

“The Sasol League National Championship is the culmination of a long season for women’s football where the best teams face off to determine the ultimate champion. The women’s game has grown in leaps and bounds over the past eight years and as the brand powering women’s football, we had to recognise and reward the gallant strides made in the game. Following our recent sponsorship renewal with SAFA, the prize money for the teams has been increased with the winners set to pocket R200 000 for their efforts”, said Nozipho Mbatha – Sasol Manager: Group Brand Marketing.

“We wish all the teams the very best in Mpumalanga, it won’t be easy but there is no better platform for women footballers to showcase their talent, not only to the nation but to the Banyana Banyana technical team that will be in attendance, scouting for talent to draft into the national team structures.”

The South African Football Association (SAFA) has commended Sasol for the sterling work they are doing with women’s football.

“At the outset, we have to convey our greatest gratitude to Sasol for the wonderful contribution towards women’s football, everyday they just outdo themselves to ensure that this property has everything it needs to prosper. We cannot thank them enough for what they have done, and continue to do,” said SAFA CEO Dennis Mumble.

“We are still in celebratory mood following Banyana Banyana’s victory in the COSAFA CUP, and that is all thanks to Sasol. Now they have uppped their game for the National Championships and have pumped in more money into the tournament. Now the ball is in the court of the players to also show they deserve all of this, more so because there will be national team scouts on the lookout for players – so the players have so much to play for. We can only say thank you Sasol, and good luck to all the teams.”
The teams are expected to arrive on Sunday, 3 November 2017.


Position Old Breakdown

R 200, 000

2017 Figures
1 R 50, 000 R 200, 000
2 R 35, 000 R 100, 000
3 R 25, 000 R 60, 000
4 R 20, 000 R 40, 000
5 R 18, 000 R 30, 000
6 R 16, 000 R 25, 000
7 R 14, 000 R 20, 000
8 R 12, 000 R 15, 000
9 R 10, 000 R10, 000


(For 2017 Sasol League National Championship fixtures, click here)