26 October 2017 Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has announced a 26-man squad to face Senegal in back-to-back 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

The first match takes place on Friday, 10 November 2017 at Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane.

Kick-off is at 19h00.


For the second fixture, Bafana Bafana will travel to Dakar to take on the Lions of Teranga on Tuesday, 14 November 2017 at Stade Leopold Sedar Senghor with a 21h30 (South African time) kick-off.

Baxter has kept the bulk of the squad that defeated Burkina Faso 3-1 earlier this month (7 October 2017) in a FIFA World Cup qualifier at FNB Stadium.

He welcomes back the defensive partnership of captain Thulani Hlatshwayo, who was out injured in that match as well as Erick Mathoho and Dean Furman, who were both suspended.

Making his return after a three-year absence is Kaizer Chiefs midfielder Siphiwe Tshabalala.

Baxter has also called up midfielders Bongani Zungu and Andile Jali who are both suspended.

Jali will serve one match after collecting two yellow cards in the qualifiers and will be available for the away leg.

Zungu has been included pending a FIFA Disciplinary case, which will sit on the 1st of November to look into the red card he received in the clash against Burkina Faso.

“In an ideal world I would love to have all the players available for every match but we know it is not possible. In Zungu’s case we will await the outcome of sitting but we have a job to do, and if you thought playing Burkina Faso was a world cup final, I can tell you now that playing Senegal is much more important than that,” said Baxter.

“We have only one option – to win the remaining two games and book our ticket to Russia. Everyone, myself, the players, the Association, media and the public – is well aware that anything less than victory in both matches will be curtains for our world cup aspirations. We did well against Burkina Faso, so we have to keep on believing that is it is very much possible to qualify. The good thing is that it is all in our hands.”

Bafana Bafana are bottom of the Group D table with four points – four adrift of log leaders Senegal. Both sides have two matches remaining.

Burkina Faso and the Cape Verde Islands are tied on six points – both are left with one game. The two nations will locks horns on Tuesday, 14 November in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

South Africa and Senegal have met seven times before with Bafana Bafana winning one match, losing one and drawing the other four against the West Africans.

Baxter’s men assemble for camp on Sunday, 5 November and travel to Polokwane on Monday, 6 November where they will set up camp.

Tickets for the match are still available at Computicket, Checkers and Shoprite for R30 (thirty rand) all round.


P               W             D               L                GF            GA

7               1               4               2               7               8


19 November 2002

v Senegal 1-1

Friendly International

Ellis Park, Johannesburg

Senegal won 4-1 on penalties

Coach: Ephraim Mashaba


18 January 2004

v Senegal 1-2

Friendly International

Stade Léopold Sédar Senghor, Dakar

Coach: Styles Phumo


12 November 2005

v Senegal 2-3

Friendly International

Boet Erasmus Stadium, Port Elizabeth

Coach: Stuart Baxter

31 January 2008

v Senegal 1-1

African Nations Cup finals group C
Baba Yaro stadium, Kumasi

Coach: Carlos Alberto Parreira

29 February 2012
v Senegal 0-0
friendly international

Moses Mabhida Stadium

Coach: Pitso Mosimane


23 January 2015

v Senegal 1-1 (Manyisa 47’; Mbodji 60’)

African Nations Cup Group C

Estadio de Mongomo, Mongomo, Equatorial Guinea

Coach: Ephraim Mashaba


8 September 2015

v Senegal 1-0 (Makola 78’)

Friendly international

Orlando Stadium

Coach: Ephraim Mashaba


Senegal squad

Goalkeepers:                   Clement Diop (LA Galaxy‚ US)‚ Alfred Gomis (SPAL‚ Italy)‚ Khadim Ndiaye (Horoya‚ Guinea)

Defenders:                         Lamine Gassama (Alanyaspor‚ Turkey)‚ Fallou Diagne (Metz‚ France)‚ Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli‚ Italy)‚ Adama Mbengue (Caen‚ France)‚ Kara Mbodji (Anderlecht‚ Belgium)‚ Pape Alioune Ndiaye (Galatasaray‚ Turkey)‚ Youssouf Sabaly (Girondins Bordeaux‚ France)

Midfielders:                     Saliou Ciss (Angers‚ France)‚ Assane Diousse (St Etienne‚ France)‚ Idrissa Gueye (Everton‚ England)‚ Cheikhou Kouyate (West Ham United‚ England)‚ Alfred Ndiaye (Villarreal‚ Spain)‚ Cheikh Ndoye (Birmingham City‚ England)‚ Salif Sane (Hannover‚ Germany)‚ Moussa Wague (Eupen‚ Belgium)

Strikers:                               Balde Keita (Monaco, France)‚ Moussa Konate (Amiens‚ France)‚ Sadio Mane (Liverpool‚ England)‚ Mbaye Niang (Torino‚ Italy)‚ Opa Nguette (Metz‚ France)‚ Diafra Sakho (West Ham United‚ England)‚ Moussa Sow (Al Ahli‚ United Arab Emirates)



Bafana Bafana squad vs Senegal – 2018 FIFA WC QUALIFIERS


1. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
2. Wayne SANDILANDS Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
3. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA)
4. Thamsanqa MKHIZE Cape Town City FC (SA)
5. Clayton DANIELS Supersport United FC (SA)
6. Erick MATHOHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (FC)
7. Motjeka MADISHA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
8. Morgan GOULD Supersport United (SA)
9. Thulani HLATSHWAYO (C) Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
10. Tebogo LANGERMAN Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
11. Sifiso HLANTI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
12. Hlompho KEKANA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
13. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
14. Keagan DOLLY Montpellier (France)
15. Andile JALI KV Oostende FC (Belgium)
16. Kamohelo MOKOTJO Brentford FC (England)
17. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
18. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
19. Bongani ZUNGU Amiens SC (France)
20. Thulani SERERO SBV Vitesse (Holland)
21. Phakamani MAHLAMBI AL Ahly FC (EGYPT)
22. Lebogang MANYAMA Konyaspor FC Turkey)
23. Siphiwe TSHABALALA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
24. Percy TAU Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
25. Bradley GROBLER Supersport United FC (SA)
26. Dino NDLOVU Fk Qarabag (Azerbaijan)