12 October 2017 – The Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana will take on their counterparts from Burkina Faso in an international friendly match on Sunday, 22 October 2017.

The clash will take place at Dobsonville Stadium.

Kickoff is at 15h00.

This will be Banyana Banyana’s first match since lifting the 2017 COSAFA Women’s Championship played in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe last month (24 September 2017).

It is the first time they face Burkina Faso.

“We are more than happy that we have a match so we can keep the momentum going. We would like to thank SAFA and Sasol for the making sure that the players are active, not just at their clubs but also at international level. It is vitally important that, where possible, we utilise FIFA dates because the more games we play the better we become and when the qualifiers come, we are ready,” said Banyana Banyana interim head coach Desiree Ellis.

“We have never faced Burkina Faso before and it will be opportunity to play them so we can learn what they are about. We have played several West African countries before so we have an idea of what style they could play, but any game to help us improve is always welcome.”

Ellis has selected a squad of 25 for the Burkina Faso clash.

She has kept the bulk of the team that won the COSAFA Cup, leaving out only two players – Nkoikoi Mabina and Nwabisa Kolisi.

The squad welcomes the return of captain Janine van Wyk who has been plying her trade in the USA, and striker Andisiwe Mgcoyi who was playing her club football in Germany. Also back in the team are Thato Letsoso (UJ University), Chuene Morifi (Mamelodi Sundowns), Letago Madiba and Bontle Mashilo (both TUT-PTA) as well as Lucinda Croy from Santos in Cape Town.

Letsoso, Croy, Mashigo and Madiba were on standby for the COSAFA CUP.

“It was important not to break the continuity because we have build a solid team when we played in Zimbabwe, and we also felt that we had to reward especially those players that did well at the tournament – if it ain’t broken, why fix it? We have again not considered the U20 players as they have a World Cup qualifier coming up, so we didn’t want to disturb their progress,” added Ellis.

“This was also a good opportunity for us to be able to have a look at Andisiwe who has recovered from injury, Chuene who was not available due to work commitments and Janine who has just returned fro the USA. With the short time between COSAFA and this FIFA date there wasn’t a lot of time to bring in new players for assessment, but we keep on monitoring those who are raising their hands at club level.”

As this is the first match for Banyana Banyana, Ellis has called on the fans to come in numbers to support the team.

“It’s good to be back and to be playing at home again – so we call on all South Africans TO COME SHOW YOUR LOVE FOR BANYANA BANYANA in Dobsonville when we take on Burkina Faso. We have always had good crowds and we are confident you will continue with your valued support,” concluded Ellis.

Banyana Banyana assemble for camp on Monday, 16 October in Johannesburg.

Banyana Banyana vs Burkina Faso 16 – 22 October 2017        


1. Andile DLAMINI Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies Johannesburg
2. Yolula TSAWE JVW FC Johannesburg
3. Roxanne BARKER Cape Town Roses Cape Town



4. Nothando VILAKAZI Palace Super Falcons FC Johannesburg
5. Thato LETSOSO University of Johannesburg Johannesburg
6. Noko MATLOU Ma –Indies FC Polokwane
7. Janine VAN WYK Houston Dash USA
8. Bambanani MBANE Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies Bloemfontein
9. Lebohang RAMALEPE Ma-Indies Polokwane
10. Regina MOGOLOLA University Pretoria Pretoria
11. Zanele NHLAPO Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies Johannesburg



12. Nompumelelo NYANDENI JVW FC Johannesburg
13. Leandra SMEDA UWC Ladies Cape Town
14. Refiloe JANE TUT-PTA Pretoria
15. Rachel SEBATI TUT –PTA Pretoria
16. Kholosa BIYANA UKZN Durban
17. Chuene MORIFI Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies Johannesburg
18. Thembi KGATLANA UWC Ladies Cape Town
19. Koketso TLAILANE TUT-PTA Pretoria



20. Rhoda MULAUDZI Ma-Indies FC Polokwane
21. Chantelle ESAU Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies Johannesburg
22. Andisiwe MGCOYI Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies Johannesburg
23. Letago MADIBA TUT-PTA Pretoria
24. Bontle MASHILO TUT-PTA Pretoria
25. Lucinda CROY Santos FC Cape Town