08 October 2017 – Rosina Sedibane Sports School were crowned champions of the Kay Motsepe National Championships after demolishing Guzana High School 3-0 in the finals played at the FNB Stadium on Saturday, 7 October.

The final which was a curtain raiser to Bafana Bafana’s 3-1 emphatic win over Burkina Faso was a culmination of the week-long tournament that took place in the Vaal involving eight of the best schools in the country.

The National Championships were preceded by the provincial play offs were the schools battled it out for the opportunity to be crowned the best schools football team in the country.

With the pressure and excitement of playing in a FIFA 2010 World Cup stadium, it was up to the Rosina Sedibane and Guzana High School to put up a performance worthy enough to be crowned champions.

However, the day belonged to Sakhi Dladla who stole the show on the day with a splendid performance that was accompanied by a brace that contributed to Rosina Sedibane’s 3-0 victory in the final.

Apart from the coveted Kay Motsepe National Championships trophy, Rosina Sedibane High School walked away with R1 Million prize money while runners up, Guzana High School took home R600 000.

Haggai High School from Limpopo finished third and pocketed R500 000 while fourth place finishers, Beaufort West High School received R400 000 for their efforts.