20 September 2017 Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has named a 25-man squad to face Burkina Faso in the crucial 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier at FNB Stadium on Saturday, 7 October 2017.

Kickoff is at 15h00.

In the reverse encounter, Bafana Bafana held Burkina Faso to a 1-1 draw in Ouagadougou last year (8 October). South Africa scored first in the 80th minute through Dean Furman before Banou Diawara equalised in referee’s optional time.

While the West Africans remain unbeaten in Group D, Bafana Bafana’s campaign took a massive knock with back to back 2-1 defeats to Cape Verde which has left South Africa with a mountain to climb in their attempts to reach the FIFA World Cup in Russia 2018.

Burkina Faso are on six points, level with Cape Verde, but the Burkinabe lead the group due to superior goal difference. Senegal are third on five points, with Bafana Bafana bottom of the table on one point.

South Africa needs to win the remaning three games to stand a realistic chance of qualifying for the FIFA World Cup next year. They have been asked to replay their game against Senegal – which they had won 2-1 – after FIFA said the match had been manipulated by Ghanaian referee Joseph Lamptey.

Baxter said while his side faces a tall order, anything was possible in the game of football.

“After the disappointment of our two games against Cape Verde, the morale is definitely low but that is our (technical team) duty to lift the boys up. We need to get them firing again and I know the boys are capable of doing so.

“It is one area where we will have to work on when camp starts (lifting their confidence levels). Burkina Faso has physically imposing players and we need to counter that with our natural flair and speed. I am confident if we play the way we did against Nigeria, we can come good again,” said coach Baxter.

Bafana Bafana assemble for camp on Sunday, 1 October in Johannesburg.



1. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
2. Wayne SANDILANDS Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
3. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA)
4. Thamsanqa MKHIZE Cape Town City FC (SA)
5. Clayton DANIELS Supersport United FC (SA)
6. Thulani HLATSHWAYO (C) Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
7. Erick MATHOHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
8. Morgan GOULD Supersport United (SA)
9. Reeve FROSLER Bidvest WitsFC (SA)
10. Tebogo LANGERMAN Mamelodi Sundowns FC
11. Sifiso HLANTI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
12. Hlompho KEKANA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
13. Keagan DOLLY Montpellier (France)
14. Andile JALI KV Oostende FC (Belgium)
15. Kamohelo MOKOTJO Brentford FC (England)
16. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
17. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
18. Bongani ZUNGU Amiens SC (France)
19. Thulani SERERO SBV Vitesse (Holland)
20. Phakamani MAHLAMBI AL Ahly FC (EGYPT)
21. Lebogang MANYAMA Konyasport FC Turkey)
22. Percy TAU Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
23. Lebogang MOTHIBA Valenciennes FC (France)
24. Bradley GROBLER Supersport United FC (SA)
25. Dino NDLOVU Fk Qarabag (Azerbaijan)