Madagascar: 3 (Fanomezantsoa 26’; Rakotovao 31’; Andriamahazaka 35’)

South Africa: 5  (Ramatlo 12’; Nare 24’; 71’; Da Silva 80’; Shahabodien 88’

25 July 2017 – The South African U17 Men’s National Team (Amajimbos) has qualified for the semi-finals of the 2017 COSAFA U17 Championship currently underway in Mauritius.

Amajimbos had to come back from behind to defeat Madagascar 5-3 in the last group B match of the regional showpiece.

Down 2-3 at the break with goals from Olefile Ramatlo and Junior Nare, head coach Molefi Ntseki took the time to remind his charges of their mission in Mauritius.

The response was a very positive one as Nare restored parity in the 71st minute with his second of the day and South Africa’s third.

Nine minutes later Alex Da Silva put South Africa into the lead to make it 4-3 before Mohammed Shahabodien confirmed victory with two minutes remaining.

“This was a great display of junior football. Both teams played very well and made typical mistakes for their age group. I am very impressed with the way Madagascar played and I will not be too hard on my players as we are in a building phase. We forgot to defend after we went 2-0 up, and the players had to be reminded that the second half would be very crucial and that we should use our strengths to our advantage. This was a clear game of two halves and we had to change our approach in the second half to emerge victorious,” said Ntseki.

Amajimbos will now face Malawi or Mauritius in the last four on Friday, 28 July 2017.

This is how they lined up:

South African starting XI:

Constandin Christodoulou(GK); Barry Sithole; Sizwe Ntanzi; Kieron Jacks (C); Joshua Momdu; Cade Erickson; Mohammed Shahabodien; Azola Tshobeni (Jonas 45’); James McFarlene; Olifile Ramatlo (Da Silva 62’); Junior Nare


Thabang Maema; Koketso Mathibe; Storm Jonas; Omphile Moeletsi; Boikanyo Segotlong; Lungile Makambi; Bryn Deelay; Junior Khiba; Alex Da Silva

Madagascar starting XI:

Ralibera Avo (GK); Faniry Andriamanandaza; Johary Razafimanjary; Dillan Fanomezantsoa; Stephen Rakotovao; Anjarasoa Andrimahazaka; Henintsoa Rajaonarivelo; Tsioriniaina Andraitsiresy; Mamisoa Andriamalala (C); Rafizy Todisoa


Jimmy Rakotoniaina; Tommy Andriamomonjy; Sebastien Raladindranto; Kevin Andriamihaja (GK); Lova Marson; Tiavina Randrianjohany


Match Officials:

Referee:                                     Patrice Milazar                             (Mauritius)

1st Assistant Referee:              Cauvelet Louis Ralph Fabien     (Mauritius)

2nd Assistant Referee:              Jimmy Phiri                                  (Zambia)