22 July 2017Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced the starting eleven for the clash against Botswana in the second leg of the 2018 African Nations Championship qualifier.

Baxter has made three made changes, including one new cap – Sipho Mbule.

The U20 international was on the bench in the first leg, together with midfielder Sphelele Ntshangase and striker Bonginkosi Ntuli who get the nod in the return fixture.

Ntshangase managed to get off the bench in the first leg in Francistown to earn his fifth cap, while Ntuli last played for Bafana Bafana in June 2015 against Mauritius in a CHAN qualifier, which South Africa won 3-0. This will be Ntuli’s third appearance for the national team.

Boalefa Pule retains his place in goals while the back four remains unchanged – Sipho Nhlapo (right back), Tercious Malepe (left back), Mothobi Mvala and Mario Booysen (both central defence).

Booysen, who will be wearing the captain’s armband, will be playing his fifth straight match since coming in for the COSAFA CUP – he will also be facing Botswana for the third time in 18 days.

Sibusiso Kumalo, Alexander Cole and Ryan Moon will join Mbule in midfield while the forwards will be Ntshangase and Ntuli.

Gift Motupa, who scored in the first leg, will start on the bench, together with Michael Morton, who replaced Teboho Mokoena (he has been recalled by his club).

South Africa and Botswana clash this afternoon (Saturday, 22 July 2017) at the Moruleng Stadium.

Kickoff is at 15h00.

The winner takes on one between Zambia and Swaziland in the next round – Zambia leads 4-0 from the first leg.

This is how they will line up:

Bafana Bafana 11 vs Botswana 2nd leg:

Boalefa Pule, Siyabonga Nhlapo, Tercious Malepe, Mothobi Mvala, Mario Booysen (c), Sibusiso Kumalo, Sipho Mbule, Ryan Moon, Cole Alexander, Sphelele Ntshangase, Bonginkosi Ntuli


Steven Hoffman, Jamie Webber, Sandile Mthethwa, Dumisani Zuma, Michael Morton, Gift Motupa, Siphiwe Mnguni

Head Coach: Stuart Baxter