21 July 2017 – The South African U-17 Men’s National Team (Amajimbos) announced their arrival at the 2017 edition of the COSAFA U-17 Cup with a 3-1 drubbing of Mozambique in their opening match on Friday, 21 July 2017.

A first half brace from Mohammed Shahabodien and a second half goal from James McFarlene, gave Amajimbos a much needed confidence boosting win.

Amajimbos struggled in the opening ten minutes of the match with all players making their international debuts however, Ntseki’s experience made all the difference in settling the boys.

Amajimbos opened the scoring charts through Shahabodien who managed to collect a loose ball after a South African corner and fire home in the 13th minute of the match.

A good build up from the middle of the park concluded Shahabodien getting his second in the 37th minute.

Ntseki made two substitutions in the match; bringing on Joshua Momodu for Omphile Moeletsi at halftime at left back and Junior Nare for Olefile Ramatlo upfront.

James McFarlene managed to make it 3-0 to South Africa in the 58th minute before the players lost concentration and concede a goal when Bechards Pablo netted in the consolation goal for Mozambique in the 73rd minute; after miscommunication in the South African defence.

“I want to give credit to the players for winning their first ever international match, but we should not get ahead of ourselves. There is still a lot of work to be done. We played fairly well but this is a tournament and we must stay level headed.

I am happy that they managed to score three goals, this will help immensely in keeping the spirit in the camp high;”said Coach Ntseki.

Amajimbos currently sit top of group A in the  and will play against Zambia on Sunday, 23 July 2017 at the same 12h30 local time (SA time 10h30).

This is how they lined up:

South African starting XI: Constandin Christodoulo (GK);  Omphile Moeletsi (Momdu 45’); Koketso Mathibe; Kieron Jacks (C); Barry  Sithole; Mohammed Shahabodien; Boikanyo Segotlong (Nare 63’); James McFarlene; Orifile Ramatlo

Substitutions: Thabang Maema; Juniour Nare; Juniour Khiba; Alex Da Silva;  Lungile Makhambi; Joshua Momdu; Bryn Deeley; Sizwe  Ntanzi

Mozambican starting XI: Nhanombe (GK); Machava Inoque; Manhice Belarmino; Mucavele Euler; Zavala Jose; Tembe Rene; Novela Gerson; Catamo Ciprianon Geny (C); Gabriel Pinho; Mandane Edmilson; Namu Edineid; Manhica Silvestre

Substitutions: Machava Inoque; aJamisse Celton; Bechards Pablo; Mondlane Lucilio (GK); Leonardo Kevin; Maculuve Santos; Novela Cardoso; Luis Edilson Mambero Dercio.

Match Officials:

Referee: Brighton Chimene (Zimbabwe)

Assistant Referee 1: Jean Marc Jeff Pithia (Maurituis)

Assistant Referee 2: Jimmy Phiri (Zambia)

Fourth Official:  Patrice Milazar (Mauritius)

Watch Highlights Here: