17 July 2017 – Following a lengthy process of close observation and monitoring, head coach of the South African U17 Boy’s National Team, Molefi Ntseki has unveiled a 25 man squad to compete in the upcoming U17 COSAFA Cup set to take place in Mauritius from 21-30 July.

Ntseki will conduct one final training session where he will have to drop four more players to complete the required 21-man squad that will represent the nation at the regional showpiece.

Amajimbos will be hoping to go all the way this year when they return to Mauritius after the narrow 5-4 penalty defeat suffered at the hands of Namibia in the 2016 final.

“We have had a good weekend and are happy with the level of talent the players possess. Of course there is still a lot of work to be done before our opening match. We have kept four additional players; which we will make a final decision on later today but I am happy to say that we have the core squad” said Ntseki.

Amajimbos jet off to the capital of Mauritius, Port Louis on Wednesday, 19 July 2017.

They will then continue with their preparations for the tournament, where they kick off their campaign against Mozambique on Friday, 21 July before a tricky encounter against Zambia two days later.

Their final group match will be against Madagascar on Tuesday, 25 July.

Group B will be represented by hosts Mauritius, Botswana, Malawi and Zimbabwe.

Preliminary Amajimbos Squad  

1. CONSTANDINO CHRISTODOULO Maritzburg United Academy SA)
2. THABANG MAEMA School of Excellence (SA)
3. SIPHO BUTA Supersport Academy (SA)
4. BONGOLWETHU SIYASI Ajax Cape Town Academy (SA)
5. STORM JONAS Wits Juniors (SA)
6. KIERON JACKS SuperSport United Academy (SA)
7. BARRY SITHOLE SuperSport United Academy (SA)
9. KOKETSO MATHIBE SuperSport United Academy (SA)
10. BRYN DEELEY  Alex Black Aces (SA)
11. JOSHUA MOMODU BidWits Academy (SA)
13. OMPHILE MOELETSI Platinum Stars Academy (SA)
14. JUNIOR KHIBA BidWits Academy (SA)
15. JEAN-PIERRE JAFTHA Ajax Cape Town Academy (SA)
16. CADE ERICKSON Ajax Cape Town Academy (SA)
15. LUNGILE MAKHAMBI Augusto Palacios Academy (SA)
17. DANTE BROWN Ajax Cape Town Academy (SA)
18. AZOLA TSHOBENI  Augusto Palacios Academy (SA)
20. JAMES McFARLANE Alex Black Aces (SA)
21. THABANI GUMEDE AmaZulu Academy (SA)
22. BOIKANYO SEGOTLONG Platinum Stars Academy (SA)
23. JUNIOR NARE Alex Black Aces (SA)
24. ALEX DA SILVA SuperSport United Academy (SA)
25. OLEFILE RAMATLO Meadowlands Academy (SA)