4 July 2017Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced the starting eleven for the COSAFA Castle Cup Plate Semi-final against Botswana – he has made seven changes to the team that lost 1-0 to Tanzania in the quarterfinals played on Sunday, 2 July 2017.

The Bafana Bafana mentor has named five uncapped players in his starting eleven.

Goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma makes his debut as Boalefa Pule starts on the bench.

The duo of Thendo Mukumela and Mario Booysen retain their places at right back and central defence respectively. SA U20 captain Tercious Malepe will make his first appearance in Bafana Bafana colours when he slots at left back, while Mothobi Mvala will also make his debut as he will operate alongside Booysen.

Lehlogonolo Masalesa will continue with the captain’s armband at central midfield together with debutant Thabo Cele, who has been re-registered in the tournament after his club had recalled him, and then allowed him to stay in camp.

Riyaad Norodien has kept his place on the right wing and will be assisted by the debutant Nduduzo Sibiya on the left wing.

Lebogang Maboe and Mohau Mokate, who both came in the second half against Tanzania, will get their first start against Botswana in midfield and the strike force respectively.

Pule, Innocent Maela, Lorenzo Gordinho, Judas Moseamedi, Liam Jordan, Cole Alexander and Jamie Webber all started against Tanzania, but will be on the bench against Botswana.

Bafana and Botswana lock horns this evening (Tuesday, 4 July 2017) at the Moruleng Stadium.

Kickoff is at 17h00 and entry is free.

Bafana Bafana have never lost to Botswana in ten outings, and this will be their third meeting in a row in the regional championship.

South Africa has won six of the clashes, and drawn four.

Their last meeting last year when Bafana Bafana defeated their neighbours 3-2 in the COSAFA CUP final in Windhoek.

This is how they line up:

Bafana Bafana XI vs Botswana

Bruce Bvuma (GK), Tercious Malepe, Mario Booysen, Mothobi Mvala, Thendo Mukumela, Lehlogonolo Masalesa (C), Thabo Cele, Lebogang Maboe, Riyaad Norodien, Mohau Mokate, Nduduzo Sibiya


Darren Johnson (GK), Boalefa Pule (GK), Lorenzo Gordinho, Sandile Mthethwa, Sibongakonke Mbatha, Judas Moseamedi, Jamie Webber, Cole Alexander, Liam Jordan, Innocent Maela