Bafana Bafana have announced a 20-man squad for the 2017 COSAFA Castle Cup, which will take place in Rustenburg between 25 June and 9 July.

Head coach Stuart Baxter has gone for a relatively new personnel, which includes players from the South African U20 Men’s National Team (Amajita) – captain Tercious Malepe, Thendo Mukumela, Sandile Mthethwa, Thabo Cele, Sibongakonke Mbatha and Liam Jordan.

Four of the players in the team ply their trade overseas – Cele, Jordan (both Portugal); Lebogang Phiri (France) and Lehlohonolo Masalesa (Greece).

Only three players – Lorenzo Gordinho, Phiri and Aubrey Ngoma – were part of the squad that faced against Nigeria (2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier) and Zambia (International Friendly Match) earlier this month.

South Africa have a bye in the first round and will join the competition in the quarterfinals when they face the winner of Group A on Sunday, 2 July at Royal Bafokeng Stadium.

Kickoff is at 17h00.

Tanzania, Malawi, Mauritius and Angola are all in Group A.

A win for Bafana Bafana will see them facing the winners of the Botswana vs Zambia encounter on Wednesday, 5 July – where victory will qualify them for the final, which will take place on Sunday, 9 July at Royal Bafokeng Stadium.

Kickoff is at 15h00.

The losers in the quarterfinals drop into the Plate competition.

South Africa has won this competition on four occasions – 2002, 2007, 2008, and 2016.

Bafana Bafana will hold their training camp in Rustenburg, starting on Friday, 23 June 2017.

Baxter will join the squad on Monday, 26 June after his club commitments with Supersport United where he is preparing the team for the 2017 Nedbank Cup final against Orlando Pirates, which takes place on Saturday, 24 June in Durban.

During his absence, assistant coaches Thabo Senong and Molefi Ntseki will lead the team.


1. Darren JOHNSON Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
2. Bruce BVUMA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
3. Boalefa PULE Supersport United FC (SA)
4. Thendo MUKUMELA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
5. Sandile MTHETHWA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
6. Mothobi MVALA Highlands Park FC (SA)
7. Mario BOOYSEN Supersport United FC (SA)
8. Tercious MALEPE Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
9. Innocent MAELA Thanda Royal Zulu FC (SA)
10. Lorenzo GORDINHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
11. Thabo CELE Real Clubbe FC (Portugal)
12. Lebogang MABOE Maritzburg United FC (SA)
13. Sibongakonke MBATHA Bidvest Wits (SA)
14. Nduduzo SIBIYA Golden Arrows FC (SA)
15. Mandla MASANGO Supersport United FC (SA)
16. Lehlohonolo MASALESA Larissa (Greece)
17. Lebogang PHIRI EA Guingamp (France)
18. Aubrey NGOMA Cape Town City (SA)
19. Liam JORDAN Sporting Lisbon (Portugal)
20. Judas MOSEAMEDI Cape Town City FC (SA)