30 March 2017 – Premier women’s football returns to action with the much-anticipated kick off of the Sasol League across Gauteng.

Sixteen teams will go head to head as the battle for supremacy in South African women’s football gets underway for the 2017 season.

NWU Vaal Campus and TUT-PTA will kick off the league tonight (Thursday, 30 March) at 19h00 at the NWU Vaal Grounds, while defending Gauteng champions JVW will begin their title defence against VUT at the Bedfordview Stadium at midday on Sunday, 2 April.

The other eight provinces will kick off their Sasol League schedules shortly.

“The Sasol League is the pinnacle competition for women’s football in this country and we cannot wait for the league to resume. The league has proven to be a breeding ground for talent and we are certain that this season will continue in the same vein,” said Thomas Sadiki, Head of Competitions, SAFA.

This year also marks the ninth year of Sasol’s sponsorship of the country’s premier women’s football league, an initiative that has played an integral part in contributing to the growth and development of women’s football in South Africa.

“At Sasol, we are committed to women empowerment and sports development through our sponsorship of women’s football. With our proudly South African heritage, we are making great strides in breaking down gender barriers on and off the field. Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana’s recent successes can be attributed to the Sasol League, and we are proud to partner in the development of women’s football,” said Nozipho Mbatha, Sasol Group Brand Marketing Manager.

The Sasol League takes place across all the nine provinces of South Africa. Matches are played on Saturdays and Sundays in the afternoon and will culminate with the National Championships that take place over a period of one week towards the end of the year.

Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies are the defending champions, after they defeated JVW FC in the final held in Mossel Bay, Western Cape.

Weel 1 fixtures:

NWU Vaal Campus vs TUT-PTA

H. Zebra Force vs Croesus Ladies

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies FC vs Pull Together

Nicko Taurus vs Palace Super Falcons

University of Pretoria Football Club vs University of Johannesburg


Soweto Fabulous vs Springs Home Sweepers