Santos of Cape Town will join Cape Town City and Ajax Cape Town as the third invitational side at the 2nd edition of the SAFA/Burger King u19 Men’s Championship.

Santos of Cape Town will join Cape Town City and Ajax Cape Town as the third invitational side at the 2nd edition of the SAFA/Burger King u19 Men’s Championship.

The trio will be joining nine provincial teams to make up 12 participants in the tournament.

The event will take place in Cape Town from 12 – 18 December 2016.

The group stages and semi-finals will be held at the iconic William Herbert Sports Field (Cape District), while the final will take place at Phillipi Stadium.

The Burger King-sponsored tournament has produced the likes of Jody February, who is on the books of Ajax Cape Town as well as Denwin Farmer, who runs out for Supersport United.

The first edition was played two years ago in Bloemfontein – Supersport United won it after defeating Ajax Cape Town.

“For South Africa to do well in senior tournaments internationally, we have to take care of our youth, we have to make sure they travel the path that will prepare and arm them for the rigours of international competition. That is why we have to convey our greatest gratitude to Burger King for the partnership in ensuring that we have a solid foundation – which is our youth – with this u19 Men’s Championship,” said SAFA President Dr Danny Jordaan.

“Without such support we do not stand much of a chance to compete international as our players will not have been properly prepared. We need to catch them young and get them ready for competition at an early age.”

Burger King is now a supplier to Bafana Bafana, and this came after the successful tournament in 2014 where they extended their partnership with SAFA in September to cover the South African u20 Men’s National Team (Amajita).

“As a company we are proud to be associated with the development of football in South Africa. Results like Amajita defeating Lesotho by eight goals to nil in their COSAFA u20 Cup opener in Rustenburg bodes well in realising our goals for vision 2022,” said Burking King Chairman, Dr Hassen Adams.

“At Burger King we remain passionate about development and community upliftment and we are confident that this upcoming tournament will produce more future stars making South Africa a force to be reckoned with on the global football field.”

Burger King was instrumental in the preparations of Amajimbos, the South African u17 Men’s National Team, who qualified for the u17 FIFA World Cup Chile 2015 tournament.

The teams are expected in Cape Town on Monday, 12 December.

Extract of the Rules:

    • The age cut off for players to qualify for this tournament will be players born on or after 1 January 1999
    • The SAFA U19 Championship match shall be for the duration of two (2) equal periods of thirty five (35) minutes with an interval of ten (10) minutes
    • Matches will be played on a single round basis, with each team in each group playing each other once (total of 3 matches per team)
    • During the knock-out stages when the score is a draw, then penalties shall be taken to determine the winner. (There shall be no Extra Time Played)
    • The teams that will qualify for the Semi Finals will be:
      1. The 3 teams that are Group winners by virtue of accumulating the most points
      2. The best runner-up from the 3 groups
      3. In the event of equality of points in the group stages, the teams will be separated as follows:
        • Goal Difference
        • Goals Scored
        • If still equal after the goal tally, the Group winner / best runner-up shall be determined by a once-off match which shall be decided on penalties if the score is still tied after seventy (70) minutes
Group A Group B Group C
Santos Ajax Cape Town Cape Town City
KwaZulu Natal Eastern Cape Mpumalanga
Western Cape Free State North West
Limpopo Gauteng Northern Cape

Santos vs Western Cape 13h30 Field A
Ajax Cape Town vs Free State 13h30 Field B
Cape Town City vs North West 13h30 Field I
KZN vs Limpopo 15h00 Field A
Eastern Cape vs Gauteng 15h00 Field B
Mpumalanga vs Northern Cape 15h00 Field I
KZN vs Santos 13h30 Field A
Eastern Cape vs Ajax Cape Town 13h30 Field B
Mpumalanga vs Cape Town City 13h30 Field I
Limpopo vs Western Cape 15h00 Field A
Gauteng vs Free State 15h00 Field B
Northern Cape vs North West 15h00 Field I
Western Cape vs Santos 11h45 Field A
Limpopo vs KZN 11h45 Field B
Free State vs Ajax Cape Town 13h45 Field B
Gauteng vs Eastern Cape 13h45 Field I
North West vs Cape Town City 15h45 Field I
Northern Cape vs Mpumalanga 15h45 Field A
There will be a draw after the group stage matches to ensure that the best 2nd placed team does not play the winner of the same group – so two bowls, 1 with the teams from the same group and 1 with the winners of the other 2 groups
Winner Group (after draw) vs Best 2nd placed (but not from the winner group) 15h00
Winner Group (after draw) vs Winner Group (draw) 15h00
3rd/4th Place Play Off