The 2016 Sasol League National Championships kick off in earnest today (Tuesday, 5 December) at the D’Almeida Stadium in Mosselbaai, Western Cape.

The tournament runs until Sunday, 11 December.

The nine provincial winners will compete for the ultimate title of being called national champions.

Teams that will compete are: JVW FC (Johannesburg), Durban Ladies (KZN), Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies (Free State), Coal City Wizzards (Mpumalanga), Richmond Ladies (Northern Cape), Kanatla (Limpopo), Golden Ladies (North West), UWC (Western Cape), City Lads Ladies FC (Eastern Cape).

The tournament will be graced by 11 Banyana Banyana players who returned this morning (Tuesday, 6 December) from the 2016 CAF African Women’s Cup of Nations tournament in Cameroon.

The players are: UWC (Western Cape) – Thembi Kgatlana, Leandra Smeda, Amogelang Motau; Durban Ladies (KwaZulu Natal) – Silindile Ngubane; JVW (Gauteng) – Janine van Wyk, Linda Motlhalo, Mamello Makhabane, Nompumelelo Nyandeni, Yolula Tsawe and Bloemfontein Celtic (Free State) – Bambanani Mbane, Shiwe Nogwanya.

They have also been joined by interim head coach of the Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana, Desiree Ellis and her assistant, Maud Khumalo.

“The Sasol League National Championships I son the highlights of our football calendar and continues to generate natinal excitement and media interest. This is a tournament that will determine who rules the roost when it comes to women’s football and with all the provinces eager to end the season on a high, this year’s tournament has all the ingredients of a thrilling festival of football,” said SAFA President Dr Danny Jordaan.

In the first match, Durban Ladies take on UWC and Golden Ladies face City Lads Ladies – both matches kick off at 14h00.

The last match of the day will see Coal City Wizards go toe to toe with Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies at 16h30.

DAY 1 FIXTURES – 2016 Sasol League National Championships:

Durban Ladies vs UWC

Golden Ladies vs City Lads Ladies FC

Coal City Wizzards vs Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies


Winners: Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)
Runners-up: Cape Town Roses FC (Western Cape)
Third Position: Kanatla Ladies FC (Limpopo)
Fourth Position: Durban Ladies FC (KwaZulu-Natal)
Fifth position: Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies FC (Free State)
Sixth Position: ALS Puk Tawana (North West)
Seventh Position: Coal City Wizards (Mpumalanga)
Eighth Position: Red Roses Ladies FC (Eastern Cape)
Ninth Position: Galeshewe Ladies FC (Northern Cape)