The South African Football Association (SAFA) in partnership with Sasol, have launched the 2016 Sasol League National Championships.

These will take place from 5 – 11 December at the D’Almeida Stadium in Mosselbaai, Western Cape.

Nine provincial winners will battle it out for the top honours of being crowned National Champs.

There will be a new winner after 2015 champions, Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies failed to qualify together with runners up Cape Town Roses. In last year’s grand finale, Sundowns defeated Roses 5-0.

The teams that went into the hat this year were JVW FC (Johannesburg), Durban Ladies (KZN), Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies (Free State), Coal City Wizzards (Mpumalanga), Richmond Ladies (Northern Cape), Kanatla (Limpopo), Golden Ladies/Als PUK Tawana (North West), UWC (Western Cape), Red Roses Ladies FC/City Lads FC/Thunderbirds Ladies (Eastern Cape).

The winners from the Eastern Cape will be confirmed this weekend (12 November) while the representatives of North West will be known the following weekend (19 November).

Kanatla will be hoping for a better outcome after finishing in third place in 2015.

Richmond Ladies, JVW and UWC did not make the cut in the last edition and all eyes will be on them to what they have to offer.

The nine teams boast about ten Banyana Banyana players who are currently in the national team training camp ahead of the 2016 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations tournament that will take place in Cameroon from 19 November to 3 December.

The players are expected back on time to play for their clubs.

Sasol League has been created to provide a platform for women’s football to be developed from club level up. By so doing, this will boost the standard and quality of the game to assist the national team coaches to get top quality players ready to represent the country.

The winners will walk away with fifty-thousand rand (R50.000), and the runners up will take home thirty-five-thousand rand (R35.000), while third place will pocket twenty-five-thousand rand (R25.000).

There will also be individual awards on offer like Coach of the tournament, Goalkeeper of the Tournament, Players’ Player of the tournament and Diski Queen of the tournament.


Sasol League National Championships 2016

DAY 1 – Tuesday, 6 December 2016

Durban Ladies vs UWC
Golden Ladies/Als PUK Tawana vs Red Roses Ladies FC/City Lads FC/Thunderbirds Ladies
Coal City Wizzards vs Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies

DAY 2 – 7 Wednesday, December 2016

Red Roses Ladies FC/City Lads FC/Thunderbirds Ladies vs Kanatla Ladies
Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies vs Richmond Ladies

DAY 3 – 8 Thursday, December 2016

Richmond Ladies vs Coal City Wizzards
JVW vs Durban Ladies
Kanatla Ladies vs Golden Ladies/Als PUK Tawana

DAY 4 – 9 Friday, December 2016

7th/8th Place Play Off
Best 3rd Placed vs 2nd Best 3rd Place, 14h00 Field B

5th/6th Place Play Off
2nd Best Runner Up vs 3rd Best Runner Up, 14h00 Field A

NB: We will do a draw after the Group Stage matches, to ensure that the best 2nd placed team does not play the winner of the same group – so two bowls, one with the teams from the same group and one with the winners of the other two groups

Semi Final 1
Winner Group (Draw) vs Best 2nd Place (but not from winner group), 16h30 Field B

Semi Final 2
Winner Group (Draw) vs Winner Group (Draw), 16h30 Field A

DAY 5 – Saturday, 10 December 2016


DAY 6 – Saturday, 11 December 2016

3rd/4th Place Play Off
Loser 1st Semi Final vs Loser 2nd Semi Final, 11h30

Winner 1st Semi Final vs Winner 2nd Semi Final,15h00


Winners: Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng) – R50 000

Runners-up: Cape Town Roses FC (Western Cape) – R35 000

Third Position: Kanatla Ladies FC (Limpopo) – R25 000

Fourth Position: Durban Ladies FC (KwaZulu-Natal) – R20 000

Fifth position: Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies FC (Free State) – R18 000

Sixth Position: ALS Puk Tawana (North West) – R16 000

Seventh Position: Coal City Wizards (Mpumalanga) – R14 000

Eighth Position: Red Roses Ladies FC (Eastern Cape) – 12 000

Ninth Position: Galeshewe Ladies FC (Northern Cape) – R10 000

Individual Award Winners:

Referee of the tournament: Ntombi Bolsiek

Coach of the Tournament: Jerry Tshabalala – Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies FC

Goalkeeper of the tournament: Mpho Teffo – Kanatla Ladies FC

Top Goal scorer of the tournament: Andisiwe Mgcoyi – Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies FC

Young Player of the tournament: Lelona Daweti – Capw Town Roses FC

Players Player of the tournament: Bongiwe Thusi – Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies FC

Diski Queen of the tournament: Lerato Kgasago – Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies FC