The South African u17 Men’s National Team, Amajimbos, suffered their first defeat of the BRICS u17 Football Cup, as they went down 3-0 to Brazil.

The clash took place on Tuesday, 11 October 2016 at the Bambolin Stadium in Goa, India.

Amajimbos coach Molefi Ntseki made two changes to his starting line-up, opting for Tyreese Pillay and Sthembiso Kurata ahead of Sabelo Radebe and Ndamulelo Radzilani.

South Africa has now played three – won one, drew one and lost one.

There was a heavy downpour immediately after the start of the match making play very difficult for both teams.

But it was Brazil who adapted the quickest to the wet conditions when they scored in the seventh minute following a goalmouth scramble, after a defensive error by the South Africans – Rodrigo Nestor Bertalia the scorer.

Amajimbos could have found an equaliser almost immediately but Lyle Foster reacted late to a cross as he missed the header by a whisker.

South Africa was let off the hook in the 31st minute when their defence was torn to shreds but goalkeeper Glen Baadjies used his feet to deny Brazil.

With the rain gone after the break, the match turned out to be an exciting and entertaining affair in the opening minutes, with both teams attacking each at regular intervals.

With the Amajimbos defence in sixes and sevens in the 60th minute, it was Baadjies again to the rescue, as he stood firm.

South Africa had perhaps the best chance in the 73rd minute when Brazil goalkeeper Matheus Stocki missed the ball just outside his box – and with Foster about to pounce on the loose ball, the South American defence recovered and cleared the danger.

But two minutes later Brazil hit Amajimbos on a counter attack – from a corner kick against them, Carlos Amadeu’s charges raced forward at a very high pace leaving the South Africans for dead. Second half substitute Leonardo Alves Chu Franco made it 2-0.

South Africa made three changes as they introduced fresh legs – with Ndamulelo Radzilani, Sifundo Nkosi and Mpho Mahlangu replacing Sthembiso Kurata, Tyreese Pillay and Lyle Foster respectively.

But it was Brazil that struck again, grabbing their third goal of the day through Jose de Oliveira Junior in the 82nd minute.

He almost got another one in the 88th minute when he rounded the South African defence, including Baadjies, but his shot went narrowly wide.

There was drama during the referee’s optional time when Brazil was awarded a penalty after a foul in the box. The South Americans scored to make it 4-0 but referee L. Priyobarta Singh from India ruled that there was encroachment, but instead of a retake he gave the ball to South Africa for an indirect free kick.

The encounter ended 3-0 to Brazil.

Brazil has now won three of their matches and sits on nine points, three ahead of Russia who will face South Africa on Thursday, 13 October.

Amajimbos have four points following one victory, one draw and a loss.

In an earlier match, China handed India their fourth loss of the tournament as they beat them 1-0.

China is fourth on the table with four points while India is bottom of the pack with no points.

The hosts take on Brazil on Thursday.

This is how they lined up:

Gabriel Nascimento Resende Brazao (GK), Matheus Bungenstab Stocki, Kevin Kesley de Souza, Wesley David de Oliveira Andrade, Vitor Eduardo da Silva Matos, Lucas Halter, Rodrigo Nestor Bertalia, Pauo Henrique Sampaio Junior, Victor Gabriel Moura de Oliveira

Arthur Gazze de Souza (GK), Leonardo Sulzbach (GK), Lucas Oliveira Rosa, Matheus dos Santos Miranda, Caio Lopes da Costa Schoell, Leonardo Alves Chu Franco, Lincoln Correa dos Santos, Marco Antonio de Oliveira Coelho, Brenner Souza da Silva, Weverson Moreira da Costa, Victor Bobsin Pereira, Alan de Souza Guimares


South Africa:
Glen Baadjies, Mswati Mavuso, Luke Fleurs, Nkanyiso Shinga, Mjabulise Mkhize, Sthembiso Kurata (Ndamulelo Radzilani), Tyreese Pillay (Sifundo Nkosi), Luke Le Roux (C), S’miso Bophela, Lyle Foster (Mpho Mahlangu), Thabo Mokwena

Tshepo Mohui (GK), Rhuwano Wynne (GK), Sechaba Mokoena, Sabelo Radebe Ndamolelo Radzilani Jaqueel de Jager, Lethabo Mazibuko, Kabelo Makola, Mpho Mahlangu, Sifundo Nkosi



Round Robin Stage – Bambolin Ground
China 0 2 Brazil
Russia 1 0 India
China 1 4 Russia
SA 1 0 India
SA 0 0 China
China 1 0 India
Brazil 3 0 SA