The twelfth edition of the Kay Motsepe Schools Cup kicks off today, Tuesday, 4 October, at 10:30, when Rosina Sedibane Modiba Sport School takes on Gaopalelwe Senior Secondary, Glenwood High School clashes with Thembalethu High School, and Benny’s Care Sports Academy plays Ncedo Senior Secondary at the Kingsway Auckland Park Campus, Johannesburg.

Forty-nine matches will be played over five days with Kay Motsepe Schools Cup Champions crowned Saturday, 8 October, at the University of Johannesburg’s Soweto Campus sports complex.

The 18 teams participating represent the top two U-19 teams from each province. Provincial winners receive R100,000-00 in the Provincial Finals. The Kay Motsepe Schools Cup Champion will pocket a cool R1,000,000; the runners-up take home R600,000; third place R500,000 and fourth place R400,000. These prizes are for the improvement of the School. Over the past 11 years many communities have benefited from this competition.

A number Kay Motsepe Schools Cup alumni have gone on to play in the PSL as well as SAFA’s youth national teams. This year will be no exception.

Track all the action as it happens on the Kay Motsepe Schools Cup page of, and on Twitter @SAFA_Schools.