The South African Football Association (SAFA) in conjunction with the Motsepe Foundation and the Department of Basic Education held the Media Launch and public draw of the 12th Edition of the Kay Motsepe National Championship in Hatfield, Pretoria.

SAFA President Dr Danny Jordaan touched on the importance of the championships and the role they play in building a young child.

“I want to congratulate all 18 High Schools who have qualified for the Kay Motsepe National Championships.

Education is very important and once it is mixed with sport, a child has an advantage over his peers. We as the Football Association are so proud of what the Motsepe Foundation has done. They have assisted us to tap into a venture that has long alluded us.

When sport and education are combined, we are not only building better athletes but also building a better future for the country. These children will grow up having learnt what it is to be a team player, good leaders of their communities and ambassadors of the country,” said Dr Jordaan.

Ms Nozipho Xulu, General Manager of the Motsepe Foundation expressed the importance of the financial banking.

“Many of the schools who have won money over the years have been able to improve the quality of their schools, whether it be infrastructure of the school, building a library or upgrading the sports facilities of the schools.”

The Kay Motsepe School Cup National Championships will be played in a round robin format, where the following 18 High Schools will fight for honours to be named Kay Motsepe National Champions.

Gauteng will be represented by current title holders Clapham High School and Rosina Sedibana. Tshedimosetso and Gaopalelwe High School will represent the North West. Ncedo Senior Secondary and Charles Morgan will embody the Eastern Cape.

KwaZulu Natal will want to dethrone the current champions through Glenwood High School and Sekusile High School.

Luckoff High and Thembalethu High School of the Western Cape along with AJ Fereira and Langberg from the Northern Cape will also participate in the Kay Motsepe Schools Cup National Championships.

Hasani Mninginisi Secondary and Benny Sport from Limpopo, Dr Cingo High School and Harmony High School will represent the Free State. Mbonzeni High School and Sikhulile High School will stand for the province of Mupmalanga.

The winners of the 2016 Kay Motsepe Schools Cup National Championships will walking away with a whopping R1 Million, the second runner up will get R600 000, while the bronze medallist will take R 500 000, the 4th placed school earns themselves R 400 000.

The National Championships will be held at the University of Johannesburg from 3 – 8 October 2016. The final will be hosted by the Soweto campus on 8 October 2016, Kick off is scheduled for 15:00.

KM National Champs Fixtures 2016